Nittany Nation Votes Clark Offensive MVP

Nittany Lion fans vote quarterback Daryll Clark their offensive MVP for the 2009 season.

With 12 starts this season, Daryll Clark completed 214 out of 346 passes (62%) for 2787 yards and 23 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. He also had 73 carries for 191 and seven touchdowns. The quarterback consistently fought off double teams on his way to being named the Defensive MVP for the 2009 season.

This is the second major award for Clark in as many weeks as he was named as First Team All-Big Ten quarterback, the first two-time All-Big Ten quarterback since Drew Brees.

Clark was also a three-time Fight On State Player of the Week this season. He beat out Derek Moye, Andrew Quarless, Evan Royster and Graham Zug with an amazing 77 percent of the hundreds of votes cast by PSU fans.

See the Voting Results Here

The lead up to the FOS MVP honors is the Fight On State Player of the Game honor, which is the first and only award given to Penn State players by Penn State fans. Fan voting is conducted exclusively at Here is is a rundown of the recipients of the fan honor this season:

Akron: Derek Moye
Syracuse: Sean Lee
Temple: Evan Royster
Iowa: Bowman
Illinois: Stephfon Green
E. Illinois: Jared Odrick
Minnesota: A.J. Wallace
Michigan: Daryll Clark
Northwestern: Daryll Clark
Ohio State: Graham Zug
Indiana: Navorro Bowman
Michigan State: Daryll Clark

See who received the FOS Take Your Marks' Awards from Mark Brennan and Mark Harrington here.


Fight On State Top Stories