The Joseph V. Paterno Award

The Maxwell Club of Philadelphia is establishing the Joseph V. Paterno Award which will be an annual honor given to a collegiate head coach.

Although the detailed selection criteria for the Paterno Award has yet to be determined, the award selection is expected to focus on a coach who has made a significant impact on college football, his players and the community at large.

This award becomes the 14th honor given annually by the Maxwell Club which cover all levels of football, from the high school to professional ranks.

The 2009 Maxwell Award was won by Texas quarterback Colt McCoy and the 2009 Bednarik Award was won by Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh. Both honors will be presented Friday night in Atlantic City.


Fight On State Top Stories