ACC Announces Eight-Game Schedule

ACC football schedule gets a bit of a touch up based on the additions of Pitt, Syracuse and Notre Dame.

As ACC school representatives met in Needham, Massachusetts, on Tuesday, they have decided upon an eight-game conference schedule going forward.

"With Pitt, Syracuse and Notre Dame joining us, it is an exciting time in our league and our schools have made decisions that position us extremely well for the future," ACC commissioner John Swofford said.

Basically, when Pitt begins play in the ACC for football next season, they will play Coastal opponents Miami, Duke, Virginia Tech, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and Virginia. They will play three other teams from the Atlantic Division; one of those being Syracuse. Other than the Orange, Pitt is expected to play each Atlantic Division team once every three years over the next 12 years. For example, Pitt could play a school like Clemson three times in the next 12 years, but would wait no more than three seasons before meeting again.

What's significant about the move, is that Notre Dame--added as an ACC member last month--may not count against Pitt's conference game total. By the same token, the game wouldn't count towards the mandated five ACC opponents that Notre Dame must face, under their agreeement to join the conference. Therefore, in addition to the conference slate, Pitt could count on Penn State and Notre Dame as annual non-conference opponents in the near future, requiring the athletic department to only seek out agreements for two other non-conference opponents, starting in 2016.

Also announced by the conference on Wednesday, simply stating the crossover opponents for men's basketball between Atlantic and Coastal opponents. For Pitt, conveniently Syracuse and Maryland will appear in home-and-away slates on the basketball schedule.

Another move made by the conference was in regards to the ACC/Big Ten Challenge. The 12 teams that will be inluded in the annual non-conference bash will feature the top 12 ACC teams in RPI from the previous season facing off with all 12 Big Ten teams.

Also announced, starting in 2014, the annual ACC baseball tournament will consist of the top ten teams in the conference, playing out a six-day event with double-elimination.

Panther Digest Top Stories