Two For Two, So Far For Donald

To go along with Monday's Nagurski Award, Aaron Donald wins the Rotary Lombardi Award, presented by the Rotary Club of Houston. He's the first Pitt player to win the award since Hugh Green did in 1980.

Aaron Donald's national award tour continued with success on Wednesday night, as he was presented with the Rotary Lombardi Award, given to the nation's too defensive lineman or linebacker.

"This is an incredible honor," said Donald. "The name ‘Lombardi' says it all. All of the finalists are such great players. I'm blessed to be chosen for this award."

Other Lombardi Award semifinalists include UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr, Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley and Missouri defensive end Michael Sam. The award is voted on by a national selection committee comprised of more than 400 voters.

On Monday, Donald earned his first national honor when he was awarded with the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, annually presented to the "nation's most outstanding defensive player" by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). Other finalists for that award include Michigan State cornerback Darqueze Dennard, Florida State cornerback Lamarcus Joyner, Mosley and Sam.

This is the fourth award Donald has won this month. In addition to the Nagurski Trophy honor, he was named 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year by the Atlantic Coast Conference Sports Media Association (ACSMA) and by the league's coaches.

Donald's national awards tour continues on Thursday, Dec. 12 where Donald will attend ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards telecast from the Dance Hall on the Disney Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Donald is a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the college defensive player of the year, and Outland Trophy, given to the nation's best offensive or defensive interior lineman.

Donald is one of three finalists for each award. The other Bednarik finalists are Barr and Mosley. Donald's competition for the Outland Trophy includes Texas A&M senior offensive tackle Jake Matthews and Baylor senior offensive guard Cyril Richardson.

Panther Digest Top Stories