Panthers May To Be Inducted

MORRISTOWN, N.J., May 18, 2005 - From the national ballot of 75 candidates and a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees, Jon F. Hanson, Chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced the 2005 College Football Hall of Fame Division I-A Class, which includes the names of 11 All-America players and two legendary coaches.


. Cornelius Bennett - LB, Alabama, 1983-86
. Tom Curtis - DB, Michigan, 1967-69
. Anthony Davis - RB, Southern California, 1972-74
. Keith Dorney - OT, Penn State, 1975-78
. Jim Houston - E, Ohio State, 1957-59
. John Huarte - QB, Notre Dame, 1962-64
. Roosevelt Leaks - FB, Texas, 1972-74
. Mark May - OT, Pittsburgh, 1977-80
. Joe Washington - RB, Oklahoma, 1972-75
. Paul Wiggin - DT, Stanford, 1954-56
. David Williams - WR, Illinois, 1983-85

. Pat Dye - East Carolina (1974-79), Wyoming (1980), Auburn (1981-92), 153-62-5
. Don Nehlen - Bowling Green (1968-76), West Virginia, (1980-2002), 202-128-8

"We are very pleased to have the opportunity to induct another exceptional class of college football hall of famers," said Chairman Jon F. Hanson. "Each year our hard-working Honors Court, chaired by Gene Corrigan, continues to do an outstanding job in ensuring the game's legends are duly recognized."

The 2005 College Football Hall of Fame Division I-A Class will be inducted at the 48th Annual Awards Dinner on December 6, 2005, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend during ceremonies in August of 2006.


1. First and Foremost, a player must have received First Team All-America recognition by a selector organization that is recognized by the NCAA.

2. A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation's Honors Courts ten years after his final year of intercollegiate football played.

3. While each nominee's football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post football record as a citizen is also weighed. He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and his fellow man with love of his country. Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether or not the candidate earned a college degree.

4. Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years*. For example, to be eligible for the 2006 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1956 or thereafter. In addition, players who are playing professionally and coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.

5. A coach becomes eligible three years after retirement or immediately following retirement provided the coach is at least 70 years of age. He must have also have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage*.

(*Those players that do not comply with the 50-year rule and coaches that have not won 60% of their games may still be eligible for consideration by the Division I-A and Divisional Honors Review Committees, which examine unique cases.)


Did You Know?

. Only 781 players and 166 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the more than 4.4 million who have played the game over the past 137 years.

. Founded in 1947, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame inducted its first class of inductees in 1951. The first class included 32 players and 19 coaches, including Illinois' Red Grange, Notre Dame's Knute Rockne, Amos Alonzo Stagg and Carlisle's Jim Thorpe.

. 262 schools are represented with at least one College Football Hall of Famer.

. In South Bend, Ind., the current building was built in 1995 as a $17 million state-of-the-art interactive facility for fans of all ages. It attracts over 60,000 people each year to more than 200 events.

. Induction for this class of Hall of Famers will take place December 6, 2005 in New York City.

Mark May
University of Pittsburgh
Offensive Tackle, 1977-80

A massive specimen at 6 feet 6 inches tall and 280 pounds, Mark May was the anchor of the Pittsburgh offensive line and the leader of a historic Panther team. In 1980, he captained the team that went 11-1 and finished #2 in the AP final rankings, a squad that featured three other College Football Hall of Fame teammates, Jimbo Covert, Hugh Green and Dan Marino.

A First Team All-America selection in 1980, May became the 35th recipient of the Outland Trophy, which goes to the nation's top interior lineman. A participant in the 1981 Hula and Japan Bowls, May helped guide the Panthers to four bowl game appearances and three AP Top 10 finishes.

Following graduation in 1981, May was selected in the first round of the NFL Draft by the Washington Redskins. In all, he enjoyed a 13-year NFL career, which included two Super Bowl championships.

A current studio analyst for ESPN, May maintains a dedicated philanthropic schedule. A member of Nancy Reagan's "Team Up Against Drugs" program, he is the honorary chairman of the Washington, D.C. Chapter of the Juvenile Diabetes Association and a United Way spokesperson. May currently resides in Mesa, Arizona.

With 119 chapters and over 12,000 members nationwide, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in America's young people. NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., Play It Smart, The NFF Center for Youth Development Through Sport at Springfield College (Mass.), the NFL-NFF Coaching Academy, and annual scholarships of nearly $1 million for college and high school scholar-athletes.

Visit us on the web at and

Panther More Top Stories