The BIG EAST All-Academic Football Team was announced by the BE Conference earlier today. Of the eleven repeat selections four members were chosen for the third time, including Rutgers FB Brian Leonard.

Six members of the Rutgers Football team were announced to the 2005 BIG EAST Conference All-Academic team, including Jr. FB Brian Leonard, Sr. DE Ryan Neill, So. place kicker Jeremy Ito, Jr. DB Brandon Renkart, So. OL Jeremy Zuttah and So. OL Mike Gilmartin.

Of the six Scarlet Knights selected, Brian Leonard joins three Mountaineers as third-time honorees: Jay Henry (West Virginia), Justice (West Virginia) and Dan Mozes (West Virginia).

Additionally, of the players who received All-BIG EAST honors on the field this past fall, eleven were named to the all-academic squad, including a pair of Scarlet Knights: Brian Leonard and Ryan Neill.

The All-Academic Team recognizes letterwinners who have posted a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better. Student-athletes who have completed a minimum of two semesters of academic work and earned a letter are eligible.

The West Virginia Mountaineers led all teams with 20 selections and now have the most all-time selections with 131 in 15 seasons of BIG EAST play.

West Virginia's senior offensive tackle Garin Justice was named winner of the 2005-06 BIG EAST/Aéropostale Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. Nate Jones, of the Scarlet Knights, was a recipient of this award in 2003.

Scarlet Report Top Stories