Iowa elects RU Coach to HOF

Current Rutgers women's basketball head coach C. Vivian Stringer is one of seven former Hawkeye greats to be elected by the University of Iowa Athletic Department and the National Iowa Varsity Club to the groups' Hall of Fame. Inductions into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame will take place Sept. 2, 2006.

Stringer posted a 269-84 (.762) record in 12 seasons at Iowa, earning 10 20-win seasons, nine NCAA Tournament berths, bix Big Ten Conference titles and a bid to the 1993 Final Four. The Hawkeyes compiled 11 consecutive winning seasons under her leadership, and Stringer's players received eight all-Big Ten and seven academic all-Big Ten awards.

During her 34-season career, Stringer has led three different schools to the Final Four (Cheyney in 1982, Iowa in 1993 and Rutgers in 2000), the first coach in men's or women's basketball to accomplish the feat. A 2001 inductee into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame, she ranks third all time in victories (750-251) and 20-win seasons (27). The three-time national coach of the year is already a member of the Halls of Fame at her alma mater, Slippery Rock, and the Sports Hall of Fame of New Jersey.

Former Iowa athletes John Niland, Rummy Macias, Fred Brown, Reggie Roby and Rafal Szukala will join Stringer in Iowa's 2006 induction class, as will her former director of athletics, Dr. Christine Grant.

Several of Stringer's former student-athletes have previously been inducted into the Iowa Hall of Fame, including current Rutgers associate head coach Jolette Law ('90) and associate director of operations Michelle Edwards ('88).

Scarlet Report Top Stories