RU Football Announces Schedule

A pair of national primetime ESPN games highlight Rutgers' 2008 slate. The Scarlet Knights will also play seven games at Rutgers Stadium, including the home and season opener versus Howard, on Saturday, August 30.

The highlight of the 2008 season slate for the Rutgers University Football team are a pair of nationally televised games airing on ESPN. The Scarlet Knights will face North Carolina, of the Atlantic Coast Conference, on September 11, in the first such showcase match-up. The Scarlet Knights will host Louisville on Thursday, December 4, in the second of the ESPN showcase contests. This primetime match will close out the 2008 regular season schedule for RU.

The Scarlet Knights' slate will feature 7 home games. In addition to Howard and North Carolina, to open up the season, Rutgers will also host Connecticut, Syracuse, and Army, before closing out the schedule against Louisville.

Rutgers will face a difficult road test, with games scheduled at Navy, West Virginia, Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, and South Florida. All road opponents, aside from Pitt, were bowl participants this past season.

One open slot, however, still remains. "We have one game remaining on the 2008 schedule and are looking to fill the opening as soon as possible," said Rutgers Director of Athletics Robert E. Mulcahy.

Rutgers has four out of conference opponents scheduled thus far. These four schools combined for a 19-29 record in 2007. Navy (8-5) reached the Poinsettia Bowl and lost a thriller to Utah (9-5), which won its seventh straight bowl game.

2008 Rutgers Football Schedule

Sat., August 30            Howard
Sat., Sept. 6                 BYE
Thurs., Sept. 11           North Carolina (ESPN)
Sat., Sept. 20               at Navy (CBS College Sports Network)
Sat., Sept. 27               TBA
Sat., Oct. 4                   at West Virginia*
Sat., Oct. 11                 at Cincinnati*
Sat., Oct. 18                 Connecticut*
Sat., Oct. 25                 at Pittsburgh*
Sat., Nov. 1                  BYE
Sat., Nov. 8                  Syracuse*
Sat., Nov. 15                at USF*
Sat., Nov. 22                Army
Sat., Nov. 29                BYE
Thurs., Dec. 4              Louisville * (ESPN)

*BIG EAST game


Scarlet Report Top Stories