Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

11 Spartans receive conference honors

Tyler Ervin, Billy Freeman and Michael Carrizosa were named to the All-Mountain West first team.

There were 11 players honored by the Mountain West for their performances in the 2015 season. Three Spartans earned All-MW first team honors, one earned second-team honors and sven Spartans were given honorable mention.

Running back Tyler Ervin, tight end Billy Freeman and punter Michael Carrizosa were the first-team honorees. Ervin finished the season with 1,469 rushing yards, 337 passing yards and 23.9 yards per kickoff return. He had 16 total touchdowns on the year. Billy Freeman finished with 47 receptions, 581 yards and 6 touchdowns. As a tight end, he led the team in all major receiving categories. Michael Carrizosa was a finalist for the Ray Guy Award and was recognized by the Mountain West as the 12-team conference’s best punter. Ervin is the only senior of the three.

Senior offensive lineman Wes Schweitzer and junior linebacker Christian Tago were named to the second team. Tago had 117 tackles on the season.

Six others received honorable mention from the Mountain West. Quarterback Kenny Potter, offensive linemen Jeremiah Kolone and Nate Velichko, and defensive backs Cleveland Wallace III, Jimmy Pruitt and Maurice McKnight were all honored.

Of the 11 players honored, only Pruitt, Ervin and Schweitzer are seniors.

Inside TheSpartans Top Stories