Marchbanks Named NCBWA District IV POTY

Columbia, S.C. - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) named its nine NCAA Division I District Baseball Players of the Year and South Carolina's David Marchbanks pegged the honors for District IV. Marchbanks is now a candidate for the prestigious Dick Howser Trophy ...

The left-handed junior was named SEC Pitcher of the Year and is a first team All-American. Marchbanks is among the nation's leader in victories with a 15-2 record and a 2.39 ERA. He leads the SEC in wins, innings pitched (132) and earned run average. Marchbanks has 97 strikeouts and has allowed just 23 walks. The Simpsonville native is 31-7 in three years as a Gamecock and is now tied for fifth on Carolina's all-time wins leaders.

The remaining eight selections include pitcher Chris Lambert (Boston College), Mike Rozema (St. John), outfielder Beau Hearod (Alabama), pitcher Scott Lewis (Ohio State) and first baseman Matt Hopper (Nebraska), first baseman Michael Aubrey (Tulane), second baseman Rickie Weeks (Southern), first baseman Billy Becher (New Mexico State) and shortstop Dustin Pedrioa (Arizona State).

The winner of the Dick Howser Trophy will be announced at 10:30 a.m. on Friday, June 13 in Omaha, Neb.

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories