NCAA Regional back in Columbia

South Carolina will host a regional for the fifth straight year as the NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament gets under way Friday.

South Carolina was among 16 host schools selected by the NCAA selection committee Sunday. The Gamecocks (42-16) will find out June 2 as to whether they will also be chosen to host a super regional as one of the tournament's top eight seeds.

The 16 regional sites, with host schools and records (through May 25) are:

Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (44-14-1)
Bloomington, Indiana – Indiana (42-13)
Charlottesville, Virginia – Virginia (44-13)
Coral Gables, FloridaMiami (Fla.) (41-17)
Corvallis, OregonOregon State (42-12)
Columbia, South Carolina – South Carolina (42-16)
Fort Worth, Texas – TCU (42-15)
Gainesville, Florida – Florida (40-21)
Houston, Texas – Rice (41-18)
Lafayette, Louisiana – Louisiana-Lafayette (53-7)
Louisville, Kentucky – Louisville (45-15)
Nashville, TennesseeVanderbilt (41-18)
Oxford, Mississippi – Mississippi (41-18)
San Luis Obispo, California – Cal Poly (45-10)
Stillwater, OklahomaOklahoma State (45-16)
Tallahassee, Florida – Florida State (43-15)

Each regional will include four teams playing in a double-elimination format. The tournament field is expected to be set at noon today.

The Gamecocks are hosting a regional for the 16th time in tournament history.

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories