John Mackey Award: "Busta" is Bustin'-A-Move

South Carolina TE Rory "Busta" Anderson has been named to the prestigious John Mackey Award watch list.

South Carolina tight end Rory “Busta” Anderson has been named to the 2014 John Mackey Award preseason watch list. The annual award is presented to the most outstanding collegiate tight end by the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

The 6-foot-5, 277 pound Powder Springs (G.A.)-native has played in 38 games over the past three season, with 13 stars. He has caught 39 passes for 694 yards with eight touchdowns.

John Mackey is an NFL Hall of Fame member and considered to be the best to have played at the tight end position. His commitment to the community, Super Bowl Championship, and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA, Mackey is truly a role model on and off the field.

Presented since 2000, the award has 13 alumni to have played in the NFL.
-Two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01)
-2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02)
-Kellen Winslow II (‘03)
-Two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers
-Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars
-2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers
-Fred Davis (‘07)
-Chase Coffman (‘08)
-Aaron Hernandez (‘09)
-D.J. Williams (‘10) of the New England Patriots
-Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts
-Tyler Eifert (’12) of the Cincinnati Bengals
-Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The 2014 John Mackey recipient will be announced on December 10, 2014 and presented live on December 11, 2014 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2014 Mackey Midseason Watch List on October 13, 2014, the 2014 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 17, 2014 and the 2014 Mackey Finalists on November 24, 2014.

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories