SEC for 3: Ray Guy Award Watch List

Out of 25 listed candidates, the S.E.C has 3 of its punters on the Ray Guy Award Watch List.

The Ray Guy Award watch list for 2014 has been named and will be awarded to the nation’s top punter. 25 players make up the watch list, and the winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy winners. Punters are evaluated on overall stats and contribution to the team.

The prestigious award is named after Football Hall of Famer Ray Guy. Created by the Augusta Sports Council in 2000, the award will be presented live at the Home Depot College Football Awards broadcast on ESPN.

The Southeastern Conference is represented well on the list, establishing three of its own to that line-up.

-Taylor Hudson, Vanderbilt: Hudson, an Ohio-native, dominated the 2013 season as the Commodores No. 1 punter. He posted 13 punts of 50 yards or longer, topping as the fourth most in the SEC.
-Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas: This Razorback is an Aussie-native and is a returning candidate for the Ray Guy Award, being a candidate in 2013. Irwin-Hill averaged 44.3 yards per punt, punting 46 times for 2,038 yards. He led the SEC with 20 punts inside the 20-yard-line last season.
-Drew Kaser, Texas A&M: Kaser was finalist in the top three last year, along with winner Tom Hornsey from Memphis.

Here are a list of other names added to the Ray Guy watch list:

Wil Baumann, N.C. State
Riley Dixon, Syracuse
James Farrimond, Rice
Tom Hackett, Utah
Thomas Hibbard, North Carolina
A.J. Hughes, Virginia Tech
Cameron Johnston, Ohio State
Sean Kelley, Florida Atlantic
Cole Leininger, California
Justin Manton, ULM
Anthony Melchiori, Kent State
Will Monday, Duke
Peter Mortell, Minnesota
Hunter Mullins, UAB
Nick O’Toole, West Virginia
Trevor Pardula, Kansas
Zach Paul, Akron
Austin Rehkow, Idaho
Spencer Roth, Baylor
Mike Sadler, Michigan State
Garrett Swanson, Fresno State
Tyler Williams, Marshall

Who will be next? will keep you updated with all of the latest information on the Ray Guy Award.

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories