South Carolina's 3 in Outland Watch List

OMAHA! The Greater Omaha Sports Committee will be sponsoring the Outland Trophy presentation banquet, and three of South Carolina's football players are eligible for that award. Cann, Robinson, and Shell were named to the 64-man Outland Trophy Watch List today.

Three of South Carolina’s finest were named to the 2014 Outland Trophy Watch List, released by the Football Writers Association of America. The 64- man roster listed senior offensive guard A.J. Cann, senior offensive tackle Corey Robinson, and junior offensive tackle Brandon Shell.

The three were among 19 Southeastern Conference players represented.

A 6-foot-4, 311 pound Bamberg (S.C.)-native, Cann has made a team-leading 38 career starts at the left guard position. He has been named to several preseason All-American squads and nationally recognized. Havelock (N.C.)-native Robinson started 22 games and plays left tackle, protecting the QB’s blindside. Shell stands at 6-foot-6 and 333 pounds from Goose Creek, South Carolina. He’s made 23 career starts and mans right tackle.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. After voting input from the entire membership, the FWAA All-America Committee selects the 26-man first team and eventually the Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Four days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 11 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 15, 2015, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Notre Dame's Ross Browner, the 1976 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award. will be keeping you updated on the latest with this prestigious award.

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories