WBB 2014 SEC Media Days

The SEC Women's Basketball team was elected to win the 2015 SEC Championship this year at SEC Media Days. Take a look at a recap of all the action on Tuesday.

Charlotte, NC-- South Carolina women's basketball head coach Dawn Staley and players met with the media on Tuesday during the SEC Women's Basketball Media Day session.

SEC national media elected the team to win the 2015 SEC women's basketball championship. The Gamecocks notched their first SEC title last season.

Junior guard Tiffany Michell and Aleighsa Welch were in attendance on Tuesday, as well.

The Gamecocks come back into the season with all five starters and 10 letter winners. South Carolina ended the season ranked at No. 8 in the country and second top-10 final rank in school history.

Mitchell was the apple of the medias eye, picked as the repeat SEC Player of the Year with 11 votes. Only two other players brought in votes to the mix. She was a finalist for the Wade Trophy and the Dawn Staley Award, also.

Welch, who also received votes as player of the year, dominated Preseason All-SEC honors from the media. The versatile forward was a second –team choice as a sophomore and first-team member as a junior.

Take a look at the rest of your SEC Preseason Media Poll:
1.South Carolina
3.Texas A&M
4. Kentucky
7. LSU
8.Mississppi State
14.Ole Miss

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories