USC-Kentucky Football Game Moved

The Southeastern Conference football game between the South Carolina Gamecocks and the Kentucky Wildcats, scheduled for Saturday, October 6, 2007, has been moved to Thursday, October 4, it was announced today. The game will be televised nationally by ESPN from Columbia's Williams-Brice Stadium. Game time will be announced at a later date.

"We're glad to be on ESPN on Thursday night in front of a national TV audience," said South Carolina head coach Steve Spurrier. "Both teams won their bowl games and finished with 8-5 records last season, so it should be a heck of a game."

The Gamecocks have won the last seven games in the series with Kentucky, including a 24-17 win in Lexington in 2006, to improve to 11-6-1 all-time against the Wildcats. The Gamecocks hold a slim 4-3-1 advantage in games played in Columbia. South Carolina head coach Steve Spurrier is a perfect 14-0 in his career against Kentucky.

Eight of the Gamecocks' 13 games were televised by either ESPN (seven times) or ESPN2 (once) during the 2006 campaign, more than any other SEC school. In addition, the 2007 Garnet & Black Spring Game will be televised nationally on ESPNU at 2 p.m. on Saturday, April 14.


Day Date Opponent Site

Saturday Sept. 1 Louisiana-Lafayette Columbia, S.C.
Saturday Sept. 8 Georgia Athens, Ga.
Saturday Sept. 15 South Carolina State Columbia, S.C.
Saturday Sept. 22 LSU Baton Rouge, La.
Saturday Sept. 29 Mississippi State Columbia, S.C.
Thursday Oct. 4 Kentucky Columbia, S.C.
Saturday Oct. 13 North Carolina Chapel Hill, N.C.
Saturday Oct. 20 Vanderbilt Columbia, S.C.
Saturday Oct. 27 Tennessee Knoxville, Tenn.
Saturday Nov. 3 Arkansas Fayetteville, Ark.
Saturday Nov. 10 Florida Columbia, S.C.
Saturday Nov. 24 Clemson Columbia, S.C.

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories