Coach Lou Holtz Heads Hall of Fame Class

Former South Carolina head coach Lou Holtz led a class of 13 First Team All-America players and two legendary coaches to be inducted into the 2008 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A). They were chosen from a national ballot of 75 candidates and a pool of hundreds of eligible nominees.



• JOHN COOPER- 192-84-6 (.691) -- Tulsa (1977-84), Arizona State (1985-87), Ohio State (1988- 2000)

• LOU HOLTZ- 249-132-7 (.651) -- William & Mary (1969-71), North Carolina State (1972-75), Arkansas (1977-83), Minnesota (1984-85), Notre Dame (1986-96), South Carolina (1999-2004)


• TROY AIKMAN- QB, UCLA (1987- 88)

• BILLY CANNON - HB, LSU (1957- 59)

• JIM DOMBROWSKI- OT, Virginia (1982- 85)

• PAT FITZGERALD- LB, Northwestern (1994- 96)

• WILBER MARSHALL- LB, Florida (1980- 83)

• RUEBEN MAYES- RB, Washington State (1982-85)

• RANDALL McDANIEL- OG, Arizona State (1984-87)

• DON McPHERSON- QB, Syracuse (1984- 87)

• JAY NOVACEK - TE, Wyoming (1982- 84)

• DAVE PARKS- SE, Texas Tech (1961- 63)

• RON SIMMONS- NG, Florida State (1977- 80)

• THURMAN THOMAS- RB, Oklahoma State (1984- 87)

• ARNOLD TUCKER- QB, Army (1944- 46)

"I want to commend the NFF Honors Court and its Chairman Gene Corrigan for their hard work," said Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame. "The 2008 class represents six decades of football's finest athletes, and they are all exceptionally worthy of having their accomplishments preserved forever in the College Football Hall of Fame."

The 2008 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Class will be inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 9, 2008, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. They will be officially enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, IN, during ceremonies in the summer of 2009.


• One National Championship (Holtz) • 12 Conference Championships (Cooper - 9, Holtz - 3) • 36 Bowl Berths (Cooper - 14, Holtz - 22) • 46 First Team All-Americas Coached (Cooper - 20, Holtz - 26) • 10 NFF National Scholar-Athletes Coaches (Cooper - 7, Holtz - 3)

A coach becomes eligible three years after retirement or immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years of age. He must have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage*.

• Only 829 players and 178 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the more than 4.8 million who have played the game over the past 140 years.

• Founded in 1947, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame inducted its first class of inductees in 1951. The first class included 32 players and 19 coaches, including Illinois' Red Grange, Notre Dame's Knute Rockne, Amos Alonzo Stagg and Carlisle's Jim Thorpe.

• 275 schools are represented with at least one College Football Hall of Famer.

• In South Bend, Ind., the current building was built in 1995 as a $17 million state-of-the-art interactive facility for fans of all ages. It attracts over 60,000 people each year to more than 200 events.

• Induction for this class of Hall of Famers will take place December 9, 2008 in New York City.


William & Mary (1969-71), North Carolina State (1972- 75), Arkansas (1977-83), Minnesota (1984-85), Notre Dame (1986-96), South Carolina (1999-2004)

Head Coach, 249-132-7

The only coach in NCAA history to lead six different programs to bowl games, Coach Lou Holtz was a fixture in the college football coaching landscape for more than three decades.

Best known for his tenure at Notre Dame, Holtz led the Fighting Irish to the 1988 National Championship and 100 wins. He won conference championships at William & Mary, North Carolina State and Arkansas, and is the only coach to guide four different programs to final Top 20 rankings. The Follansbee, W.V., native produced the best four-year win-loss record in NC State history, and led Arkansas to six straight bowl games and four Top Ten finishes.

Holtz received Man of the Year laurels from the Walter Camp Foundation in 1997, and twice earned the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Academic Achievement Award, which annually honors the school with the highest graduation rate among members of its football team. He also coached Heisman Trophy winner Tim Brown and College Football Hall of Fame inductees Chris Zorich and Billy Ray Smith.

Currently a motivational speaker and a studio analyst for college football on ESPN, Holtz resides in Orlando, Fla.

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories