Yardbirds Picked Numero Uno In The East

The 2003 South Carolina baseball team has been selected to finish in first place in the SEC Eastern Division, as voted by the league's 12 baseball coaches in the 12th annual preseason SEC poll. The 2003 South Carolina baseball team will hold its first official team practice of the season on Jan. 16, beginning at 2:30 p.m. ...

Tanner is entering his seventh season as head baseball coach at the University of South Carolina. Over the past three seasons under Coach Tanner, South Carolina has won more games than any team in Division I baseball, with 162 wins. The 2002 Gamecocks set a single-season record for wins finishing with a 57-18 record, reaching the championship game at the College World Series.

The Gamecocks have won two of the last three SEC Championships (2002, 2000) as well as three of the last four SEC Eastern Division Titles (2002, 2000, 1999). Carolina has also made three consecutive appearances in the NCAA Regional and NCAA Super Regional. USC also set a new total attendance record in 2002 with 151,521 fans flocking to Sarge Frye Field.

Points for the poll were compiled on a 6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for each division. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team. Each coach also voted for one team as an overall conference champion. The conference schedule begins the weekend of March 15.

South Carolina opens the 2002 season on Feb. 7 at 3 p.m. at Sarge Frye Field against Charleston Southern.

Eastern Division                        
1) USC (11) 61 pts.
2) Florida (1) 49 pts.
3) Georgia 40 pts.
4) Tennessee 33 pts.
5) Vanderbilt 19 pts.
6) Kentucky 14 pts.

Western Division
1) LSU (8) 52 pts.
2) Miss. State (4) 43 pts.
3) Auburn 34 pts.
4) Alabama 28 pts.
5) Ole Miss 27 pts.
6) Arkansas 11 pts.

SEC Champion:
LSU (7)
Miss. State (3)
USC (2)

Gamecock Anthem Top Stories