Bulls Honored at 2011 Football Banquet

The USF football program held its annual football banquet Saturday night at the Grand Hyatt, honoring the team, their accomplishments and especially its 18 seniors.

The Bulls held its 2011 football banquet at the Grand Hyatt Saturday night, honoring the team's accomplishments on and off the field, and payed extra homage to its 18 seniors.

The 2011 season didn't go as expected with the team finishing 5-7, but with so many close losses, there were plenty of positives to talk about, awards to be given out, and reasons to feel good about 2012.expected but USF football team  had it's annual awards banquet. at the downtown Hyatt.

Director of Athletics Doug Woolard and coach Holtz recognized everyone that played a big part in helping the football program, from the University's administration, everyone in the athletic department, to the parents of the players. Woulard also noted that the banquet coincided with the two year anniversary of Coach Holtz's hiring.

Holtz also recognized a list of accomplishments from the 2011 Bulls, in both athletics and academics, and recognized 61 players that earned at least a 2.5 GPA, including 29 who earned from a 2.5-2.9 GPA, 19 with a 3.0-3.5 GPA and 10 with a 3.5 GPA and higher. To cap the athletic awards, Assistant A.D. for Student Services Jason Linders announced USF's Scholar-Athlete Award, which went to Maikon Bonani, Evan Landi and Brandon Salinas for achieving 4.0 GPAs.

The Bulls' total of 19 in the 3.00-3.49 range was two more than last season and the 10 having a 3.50-3.99 were three more than USF had in 2010. USF has broken the program's football GPA records for three consecutive semesters

Highlighting the awards were the Iron Bull (MVP) winners, which went to quarterback B.J. Daniels for offense, the defense's Iron Bull, which was shared by both defensive tackle Cory Grissom and linebacker DeDe Lattimore, with safety Mark Joyce receiving the special-teams MVP honors.

For strength and conditioning achievement, the Golden Bull was awarded to offensive lineman Jeremiah Warren.

Earning the Crunch award for biggest hits was tight end Evan Landi on offense, safety Mark Joyce on defense, and linebacker Mike Jeune for special teams.

The Effort awards were given to running back Demetris Murray for offense, defensive tackle Keith McCaskill on defense and linebacker Armando Sanchez on special teams.

The Scout Team MVP awards were given to defensive tackle Todd Chandler, offensive lineman Brynjar Gudmundsson and linebacker Antoine Pozniak earned it for special-teams.

Coach Holtz also announced that 25 players earned the Victors Club, which is awarded to those players that graded out as ‘winners' in at least eight games during the season. A complete list of the Victor's Club is below.

There were also 62 letter-winners for 2011, with nine seniors earning their fourth letter, Tyson Butler, Patrick Hampton, Chaz Hine, A.J. Love, Keith McCaskill, Joel Miller, Jeremiah Warren, Quenton Washington and Jerrell Young.

Graduating Seniors (18)
Sharly Azard
Tyson Butler
Claude Davis
Rony Delisca
Patrick Hampton
Chaz Hine
A.J. Love
Keith McCaskill
Kevin McCaskill
Thanasi "Saki" Mihalakos
Joel Miller
Darren Powe
Armando Sanchez
Michael Walsh
Jeremiah Warren
Quenton Washington
Curtis Weatherspoon
Jerrell Young

2011 Football Award Winners

Scholar-Athlete Award (for achieving 4.0 GPAs)
Maikon Bonani, Evan Landi and Brandon Salinas.

Golden Bull (Strength and Conditioning)
Jeremiah Warren

Jim and Laurie Ragsdale Awards
Scout Team Player of the Year, Crunch Award (big hitter), Effort Award, and Iron Bull (MVP)
Scout Team Award - Todd Chandler
Crunch Award - Evan Landi
Effort Award - Demetris Murray
Iron Bull Award - B.J. Daniels

Defensive Awards
Scout Team Award - Brynjar Gudmundsson
Crunch Award - Mark Joyce
Effort Award - Keith McCaskill
Iron Bull Award - Cory Grissom and DeDe Lattimore

Special Teams Awards
Scout Team Award - Antoine Pozniak
Crunch Award - Mike Jeune
Effort Award - Armondo Sanchez
Iron Bull - Mark Joyce

John & Cynthia Ruzic Victors Club Honors (awarded to those players that graded out as ‘winners' in at least eight games during the season)

Offensive line
Quinterrius Eatmon
Danous Estenor
Chaz Hine
Mark Popek
Jeremiah Warren

Tight End
Andreas Shields
Evan Landi

Running Back
Demetris Murray
Darrel Scott
Victor Marc

B.J. Daniels

Defensive Line
Julius Forte
Cory Grissom
Patrick Hampton
Keith McCaskill

Sam Barrington
Michael Lanaris
DeDe Lattimore

Defensive Back
Jon Lejiste
Kayvon Webster
Jerrell Young

Special Teams
Maikon Bonani
Mark Joyce
Michael Walsh

Click here for more info and to share your thoughts with other USF fans! - Get the inside scoop!

Bulls Daily Top Stories