Zach Line semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

Line, who leads C-USA in scoring (11.33 ppg) and rushing yards (121 ypg), is among 10 semifinalists for the award that honors the top running back in the country. After last week's game against Tulane, Line has racked up over 1,000 yards rushing for the second year in a row, and he has 17 touchdowns, tied with Alabama's Trent Richardson for fifth-most nationally.

Zach Line is one of 10 semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, which honors the nation's top running back.

The award is presented by the SMU Athletic Forum.

Wisconsin's Montee Ball, Nebraska's Rex Burkhead, San Diego State's Ronnie Hillman, Oregon's LaMichael James, Missouri's Henry Josey, Washington's Chris Polk, Oklahoma State's Joseph Randall, Alabama's Trent Richardson and Virginia Tech's Davis Wilson are the other semifinalists.

James won the award in 2010.

The selection committee will vote to narrow the list down to three finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 21. The winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN on Dec. 8; the actual award will be presented to the winner on Feb. 17 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas.

Line leads Conference USA in scoring (11.33 points per game) and in rushing yards (121 yards per game) and ranks seventh and eighth nationally in those categories, respectively. He's rushed for 100-plus yards in seven of SMU's nine games this season and has a total of 1,089 yards so far this year. He's also scored 17 rushing touchdowns, which is tied with Richardson for fifth-most in the country. Line only needs two more touchdowns to beat Erick Dickerson's single-season record of 19.

For more SMU coverage, follow Laken Litman on Twitter!

Pony Stampede Top Stories