It's official: SMU is headed to the Big East

After months of rumors and deliberating, the Big East has finally announced the addition of five new members - SMU, Houston, Central Florida, Boise State and San Diego State.

Today that Big East held a media teleconference to announce its five new additions--SMU, Houston, Central Florida, Boise State and San Diego State.

SMU, UH and UCF will be "full members" meaning they'll compete in the conference in all sports, whereas Boise State and SDSU are football-only members.

Each of the new schools' presidents was given a few minutes to make a statement. Below is what R. Gerald Turner said:

"I want to join my colleagues in thanking [commissioner] John Marinatto and his staff, of course President [Judy] Genshaft, for the encouragement and support that she's provided to each of us.

"The City of Dallas will be delighted to welcome all of the Big East members. We feel it's an honor to be a part of the Big East Conference. With the University of Houston, we can truly say that the Big East Conference has spread to the state of Texas.

"We look forward to being able to participate in the Big East, both for football and other sports, and know that basketball and the other sports within the conference will bring great competition to Dallas. We look forward to visiting our sister institution campuses during this competition.

"We look forward to the participation starting in '13 and believe that we will benefit greatly from being in the Big East and that the Big East will benefit from SMU's participation also.

"So we look forward to welcoming all of the institutions to Dallas starting in '13."

Longer story to come.

For more SMU coverage, follow Laken Litman on Twitter!

Pony Stampede Top Stories