2003 Stanford Football Postseason Awards

The efforts and toil of the last 12 months should be lauded at this time for the 93 members of this Stanford Football team, and several have been publicly recognized recently with honors and awards. Please also extend your appreciation to those Cardinal student-athletes who have received All Pac-10 awards, team awards and conference All-Academic recognition.

Sunday the Stanford coaches handed out their awards at the yearly team banquet to preeminent individuals who have excelled this year...

2003 Stanford Football Awards

Irving S. Zeimer Memorial Award (team MVPs):  Luke Powell, Oshiomogho Atogwe

Vardell Award (junior or senior player who best epitomizes excellence in academics and athletics):  Kirk Chambers

Al Masters Award (to the player displaying the highest degree of leadership and respect of teammates):  Kirk Chambers

Menlo-Atherton Award (most outstanding freshman):  Mark Bradford

Deswarte-Eller Award (most outstanding sophomore):  Babatunde Oshinowo

Gundelach Award (most outstanding junior):  Oshiomogho Atogwe

Jim Reynolds Award (to the senior player whose courage on the field and devotion to the game are an inspiration to all):  Luke Powell

Jack Huston Award (to the player exemplifying aggressiveness, exceptional performance, and unheralded efforts):  Jared Newberry

Phil Moffat Awards (most outstanding special teams players):  Eric Johnson (offense), Brian Gaffney (defense)

Greg Piers Awards (most outstanding service team players):  Mikal Brewer (offense), Michael Okwo (defense)

Frank Rehm Awards (most outstanding back and lineman in the Big Game):  J.R. Lemon (back), Amon Gordon (lineman)

Team Captains:  Luke Powell, Kirk Chambers, Brett Pierce

Monday the Pac-10 released the All Pac-10 teams, as voted by the conference's coaches...

All Pac-10 Honorees

Second Team All Pac-10:  OT Kirk Chambers, PR Luke Powell, P Eric Johnson and FS Oshiomogho Atogwe

Honorable Mention All Pac-10:  MLB David Bergeron, OLB Jared Newberry, NT Babatunde Oshinowo, TE Brett Pierce, TE Alex Smith and CB Leigh Torrence.

A couple weeks ago the conference released their All-Academic teams, and Stanford dominated with 25 selections...

Pac-10 All-Academic Teams

First Team All-Academic:  OT Kirk Chambers and OLB Kevin Schimmelmann (both named for the second straight year).  Also QB Kyle Matter, FB Cooper Blackhurst, WR Brandon Royster, NT Babatunde Oshinowo, MLB Brian Gaffney and CB Leigh Torrence

Second Team:  WR Greg Camarillo, WR Nick Sebes, OT Matt McClernan, DE Louis Hobson, NT Ian Shelswell, DE Will Svitek, MLB David Bergeron and OLB Mike Silva.

Honorable Mention:  OG David Beall, OT Jon Cochran, RB Gerald Commissiong, RB J.R. Lemon, C Tim Mattran, PK Michael Sgroi, TE Alex Smith, OT Mike Sullivan and OG Josiah Vinson.

Are you fully subscribed to The Bootleg? If not, then you are missing out on all the top Cardinal coverage we provide daily on our website, as well as our full-length feature articles in our glossy magazine. Sign up today for the biggest and best in Stanford sports coverage with TheBootleg.com (sign-up) and The Bootleg Magazine (sign-up)!

The Bootleg Top Stories