Panel Pac-10 Picks

On Thursday, the Pac-10 office will announce the honorees for the women's basketball 2006-07 season: All-Conference, All-Freshman, Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year. We assembled a panel of eight experts and asked them to make their picks. There was a surprising amount of agreement in many of the selections. Who are the queens of the conference? Read on.

A special thank you to our eight panelists, headlined by San Francisco Chronicle writer Michelle Smith.  Also participating: Sue Bair, Mike Eubanks, Warren Grimes, Roland Hu, Bob Kinder, Tom Knecht and Joe Montes.

All voters selected 10 All-Conference and five All-Freshman performers, as well as Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year.  Six players were unanimous selections for All-Conference and three unanimous for All-Freshman.  Because of a tie for the final All-Freshman selection, six total are recognized.

All honorees are listed with the number of votes they received in parentheses.

All-Conference Team

Devanei Hampton (8) Cal So. F 16.4 ppg, 7.9 rpg, 53.3% FG
Cameo Hicks (8) UW Sr. G 17.1 ppg, 5.3 rpg, 2.4 apg
Noelle Quinn (8) UCLA Sr. G 17.0 ppg, 6.9 rpg, 5.7 apg
Brooke Smith (8) Stan. Sr.* C 13.9 ppg, 7.5 rpg, 3.5 apg
Ashley Walker (8) Cal So. F 17.5 ppg, 8.5 rpg, 54.1% FG
Candice Wiggins (8) Stan. Jr. G 16.2 ppg, 4.2 rpg, 3.5 apg
Eshaya Murphy (7) USC Sr. G 18.1 ppg, 8.4 rpg, 2.1 spg
Casey Nash (6) OSU Sr.* G 20.3 ppg, 6.6 rpg
Jayne Appel (5) Stan. Fr. C 13.5 ppg, 7.1 rpg, 1.9 bpg
Emily Westerberg (5) ASU Sr. F 13.8 ppg, 5.2 rpg, 52.3% FG

Honorable mention (also receiving votes): ASU So. G Briann January (3), ASU Sr. F Aubree Johnson (2), UW Jr. G Emily Florence (1), Stan. So. F Jillian Harmon (1), Stan. Fr. G JJ Hones (1), UCLA Jr. F Lindsey Pluimer (1)

All-Freshman Team

Jayne Appel (8) Stan. C 13.5 ppg, 7.1 rpg, 1.9 bpg, 54.1% FG
JJ Hones (8) Stan. G 4.5 ppg, 3.9 apg, 2.8 a/to
Judie Lomax (8) OSU F 11.0 ppg, 7.7 rpg, 64.3% FG
Lauren Greif (6) Cal G 8.6 ppg, 5.6 rpg, 36.2% 3FG
Marisa Stotler (3) WSU F 10.7 ppg, 5.1 rpg, 1.8 spg
Natasha Vital (3) Cal G 7.1 ppg, 4.1 apg

Honorable mention (also receiving votes): Ore. G Taylor Lilley (2), ASU G Dymond Simon (2)

of the Year
of the Year
of the Year
  Candice Wiggins Jayne Appel Joanne Boyle
Michelle Smith Devanei Hampton Jayne Appel Joanne Boyle
Sue Bair Candice Wiggins Jayne Appel Charli Turner Thorne
Mike Eubanks Candice Wiggins Jayne Appel Joanne Boyle
Warren Grimes Candice Wiggins Jayne Appel Joanne Boyle
Roland Hu Candice Wiggins Jayne Appel Joanne Boyle
Bob Kinder Candice Wiggins Jayne Appel Joanne Boyle
Tom Knecht Candice Wiggins Lauren Greif Joanne Boyle
Joe Montes Candice Wiggins Jayne Appel Tara VanDerveer

Are you fully subscribed to The Bootleg? If not, then you are missing out on all the top Cardinal coverage we provide daily on our website, as well as our full-length feature articles in our glossy magazine. Sign up today for the biggest and best in Stanford sports coverage with (sign-up) and The Bootleg Magazine (sign-up)!

The Bootleg Top Stories