Bailey, Provo, Tiller end Careers With Honors

Though the team went on a five-game slide to end the 2011 season, the Syracuse squad still had seven players on the All-Big-East teams.

Syracuse seniors Antwon Bailey, Nick Provo and Andrew Tiller didn't lead the team to a bowl in 2011, but their effort led to first team selections among the Big East's bests on Thursday.

Along with the trio of seniors who close out their SU careers with the honor, Justin Pugh and Chandler Jones were also named the the first team.

Alec Lemon and Marquis Spruill were named to the second team, capping off the seven Orange players who made the team for the second straight season.

The Big East Player of the Year was Cincinnati's Isaiah Pead and two players - Khaseem Greene of Rutgers and Cincy's Derek Wolfe - shared Defensive Player of the Year honors. West Virginia's Tavon Austin was named the Special Teams Player of the Year and Teddy Bridgewater of Louisville was named Rookie of the Year. Butch Jones, from Cincinnati, was the Big East Coach of the Year.

Cuse Nation Top Stories