ACC Opponents Released

The future is closer than it has ever been with the Orange now knowing who they will line up against in their first season within the ACC. See inside.

Syracuse University as members of the ACC (Atlantic Coast Conference) is becoming more tangible with the newest release coming from the conference.

The ACC, now with 14 teams, will be split into the Atlantic and Coastal Divisions.

All of the 14 football teams will play against eight conference opponents in their yearly schedule, with an even four games on their home field and four away. Six matches will be versus divisional foes, while the other two will be against the division that team is not a part of.

The Orange will host the Boston College Eagles, Clemson Tigers, Pittsburgh Panthers, and Wake Forest Demon Deacons. Syracuse is ahead of two of these opponents in all-time head-to-head records: 28-18 over Boston College and 1-0 over Clemson.

Wake Forest is tied with Syracuse at 1-1, while Pittsburgh leads Syracuse, 34-31-3.

The Orange will play away matches with the Florida State Seminoles, Goergia Tech Yellow Jackets, Maryland Terrapins, and N.C. State Wolfpack. Florida State (5-1), N.C. State (6-0), and Georgia Tech (2-0) all lead career series versus Syracuse, while Syracuse is ahead of Maryland all-time, 18-14-2.

Pittsburgh will be what has been deemed as a "permanent crossover opponent" for Syracuse, meaning that they will be competing each season, whereas Georgia Tech is a "rotating crossover opponent". The Yellow Jackets will be put in rotation with other teams in the Coastal Division, creating a different foe for the Orange each season.

Cuse Nation Top Stories