Boeheim's Army Advances to Elite 8

In a tight contest with the Liberty Ballers, Boeheim’s Army escapes and will play again tomorrow night.

It took another gritty second-half performance from Boeheim’s Army, but the Syracuse -based squad prevailed 78-72 over the Liberty Ballers in the Super 17 of The Basketball Tournament Friday night. Behind a game-high 19 points from Hakim Warrick, Boeheim’s Army will be moving on to the Elite 8 tomorrow night.

The Army led 36-32 at halftime in large part due to 9 first-half points from guard Eric Devendorf. The Liberty Ballers came out strong in the second half behind a 7-2 run led by Ronald Moore. Lawrence Moten called timeout, regrouped his team and then went on a run of their own and never looked back.

Willie Deane hit a game-changing transition 3 on a pass from Terrence Roberts to put the Army up 8 with 11:50 to go. Despite a small run from the Ballers, the lead was never in jeopardy.


Behind five 3-pointers, Ronald Moore scored a team-high 16 points for the Liberty Ballers. Former Villanova Wildcat Antonio Pena added 14 points.

Starting point guard Willie Deane had another solid game for the Army, scoring 16 points, grabbed 4 boards and dished out 3 assists. Devendorf added six second-half points, finishing with 15. In his first game with the team, Rick Jackson had 8 points and 8 rebounds. Mookie Jones added a 3-pointer in his only shot of the game.

Last weekends leading scorer, Demetris Nichols, finished with 5 points (1-for-10).

Boeheim’s Army committed 18 turnovers which led to 17 Liberty Baller points. However, BA won the battle of the boards, 39-34. Lawrence Moten’s squad went 22-for-27 from the FT, which was good for 81.5%. The Liberty Ballers shot 62.5% from the charity stripe.

With the win, Boeheim’s Army will play tomorrow night at 8:00 p.m. ET against City of Gods. Their roster features former college standouts Dermarr Johnson (Cincinnati), Pops Mensah-Bonsu (George Washington), Hamady Ndiaye (Rutgers), Roscoe Smith (UNLV), Michael Sweetney (Georgetown) and Devin Sweetney (St. Francis).

The game will be televised on ESPNU. The winner will advance to Fordham University next weekend in the Final Four.

Cuse Nation Top Stories