Syracuse's Tricky Scholarship Situation

After Syracuse announced that Moustapha Diagne had decided to enroll in a 2-year junior college, the scholarship situation needs to be addressed, yet again.

There’s no more speculation – Moustapha Diagne won’t be wearing a Syracuse uniform this year. Not only does that affect the 2015-16 team, it directly affects future recruiting classes.

We’ve gone over the scholarship situation before, but with all of the requests, we’ve decided to break it down again.

The scholarship reduction handed down by the NCAA requires Syracuse to have 10 scholarship players on their roster, instead of the standard thirteen. With that said, the Orange are allowed to start their scholarship reduction beginning in the 2016-17 season, if they choose to do so. The NCAA gave Jim Boeheim the option due to the, then, four signees Syracuse expected on campus.

SU is allowed up to thirteen scholarship players in the 2015-16 season, but with the news of Diagne not enrolling, Syracuse will have ten scholarship players, with only nine eligible to play this season. The one ineligible player is 7-foot-2 transfer center Paschal Chukwu, who is required to sit out this season due to NCAA transfer rules.

Syracuse will start their scholarship reduction this season, meaning it will conclude after the 2018-19 season.

Seniors = BOLD.
* = ineligible.





Trevor Cooney DaJuan Coleman Paschal Chukwu Paschal Chukwu
Michael Gbinije Chinonso Obokoh Kaleb Joseph Frank Howard
DaJuan Coleman Tyler Roberson Frank Howard Tyler Lydon
Chinonso Obokoh Paschal Chukwu Tyler Lydon Malachi Richardson
Tyler Roberson Kaleb Joseph Malachi Richardson Tyus Battle
Paschal Chukwu* Frank Howard Tyus Battle Matthew Moyer
Kaleb Joseph Tyler Lydon Matthew Moyer OPEN
Frank Howard Malachi Richardson OPEN OPEN
Tyler Lydon Tyus Battle OPEN OPEN
Malachi Richardson Matthew Moyer OPEN OPEN

Cuse Nation Top Stories