Gbinije, Richardson Pick Up All-ACC Awards

The ACC has announced the ACSMA awards for top players and All-ACC Teams

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association has handed out their awards and named the All-ACC teams for the 2015-16 regular season. A couple Syracuse players were honored including Michael Gbinije named to the All-ACC second team and All-ACC Defensive Team. Malachi Richardson was named to the All-ACC Freshman Team. 

Here are the full lists:

2015-16 ACSMA All-ACC Teams
(First-place votes, followed by total points)
All-Atlantic Coast Conference
First Team
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina      51      *255
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  51      *255
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State       48      249
Grayson Allen, So., Duke        47      247
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 32      213
Second Team
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse  8       155
Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami   6       136
Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame      3       130
Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke       4       129
Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville     1       90
Third Team
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech  -       76
Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia     -       70
Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame   -       45
Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh  -       37
Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami     3       35
Honorable Mention:
Justin Jackson, North Carolina; Tonye Jekiri, Miami; Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech; Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; London Perrantes, Virginia; Devin Thomas, Wake Forest.
All-ACC Freshman Team
Brandon Ingram, Duke    *51
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State     50
Malik Beasley, Florida State    49
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse    34
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest    28
All-ACC Defensive Team
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  49
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami        39
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse  36
Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson      30
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 27
ACC Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  38
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina      9
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State       3
Grayson Allen, So., Duke        1
ACC Freshman of the Year
Brandon Ingram, Duke    48
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State     1
Malik Beasley, Florida State    1
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse    1
ACC Coach of the Year
Jim Larrañaga, Miami    24
Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech    22
Tony Bennett, Virginia  2
Roy Williams, North Carolina    1
Brad Brownell, Clemson  1
Brian Gregory, Georgia Tech     1
ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  39
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami        9
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse  1
Marshall Plumlee, Sr., Duke     1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1
ACC Most Improved Player of the Year
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 21
Grayson Allen, So., Duke        15
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State       4
Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech  4
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami      2
Joel Berry, So., North Carolina 2
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech  1
Dennis Clifford, Sr., Boston College    1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1
ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina       19
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami      12
Luke Kennard, Fr., Duke 7
Tyler Lydon, Fr., Syracuse      6
Devon Bookert, Sr., Florida State       6
Sheldon Jeter, Jr., Pittsburgh  1
* Unanimous selection

Cuse Nation Top Stories