USA Today Sports

Temple senior linebacker Tyler Matakevich won the Chuck Bednarik Award and was named first-team All-American Thursday

Tyler Matakevich added the Bednarik Award and first-team All-America honors to the Nagurski Award and American Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year honors.

It was a good day to be Tyler Matakevich.

 Matakevich, the Owls’ senior linebacker, was named the winner of the 2015 Chuck Bednarik Award live on ESPN from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta on Thursday night. The honor is given annually to the nation's best defensive player by the Maxwell Football Club.

 Among the previous winners were Charles Woodson (1997), Julius Peppers (2001),, Ndamukong Suh (2009) and Patrick Peterson (2010).

 Matakevuch was  also named first-team All-American by the Walter Camp Foundation on Thursday the first Temple player since Paul Palmer to receive the honor. He was also named Defensive Player of the Year in the American Athletic Conference.

 On Monday, Matakevich won the Bronco Nagurski Award, which was given to the best defensive player in the country by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

 Matakevich  is the only FBS player to lead his team in tackles every game of the 2015 season. He is college football's active leader with 481 career tackles, and is ninth all-time on the NCAA career list.

 With 126 tackles this season, Matakevich became the seventh college football player to have 100 tackles in four consecutive seasons and his five interceptions leads all FBS linebackers.

Other finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award were Penn State end Carl Nassib and Alabama linebacker Reggie Ragland.

 Matakevich will cap his Temple career in the Boca Raton Bowl against Toledo on Jan. 22.

Owls Daily Top Stories