Media tab Hoop Vols 4th in SEC East

The Southeastern Conference announced its preseason media poll and All-SEC Team Monday, and Tennessee guard Scotty Hopson earned second-team All-SEC inclusion while the Volunteers were picked to finish fourth in the Eastern Division behind Florida, Kentucky and Georgia.

A native of Hopkinsville, Ky., Hopson has started 66 of UT's 71 games over the previous two seasons. As a sophomore last year, he led the Vols in 3-pointers made (52) and minutes played (27.7 mpg) while ranking second on the team in scoring with 12.2 points per game.

He scored a career-high 25 points in back-to-back games against UNC Asheville and East Carolina last season. Hopson scored a team-best 17 points to lead Tennessee to a thrilling upset of top-ranked and previously unbeaten Kansas on Jan. 10, and he also hit the game-winning jumper against Florida on Jan. 31.

A career .344 shooter from 3-point range, Hopson is majoring in Communications and is one of Tennessee's most active student-athletes in local community service efforts.

Hopson is coming off an active summer during which he attended the NCAA Career in Sports Forum, the LeBron James Skills Academy and also competed with the USA Basketball Men's Select Team.

Florida was the choice to win the 2011 SEC regular-season championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members. Each SEC school selected media members that cover their team, and additional writers from across the nation were selected by the conference office to form the voting panel.

Florida was the media's favorite to win the East with 110 total points (13 first-place votes), ahead of second-place Kentucky's 95 points (three first-place votes). Georgia (72 points) and Tennessee (71 points) were separated by just one point, while Vanderbilt and South Carolina rounded out the top six.

In the West, Mississippi State's 118 total points (18 first-place votes) were ahead of Ole Miss' 84 points (two first-place votes). Alabama was picked third with 82 points. Arkansas, LSU and Auburn round out the top six in the West.

Georgia junior Trey Thompkins was the choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year with 18 votes. Ole Miss senior Chris Warren (one vote) and Kentucky Freshman Brandon Knight (one vote) also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

Thompkins, Warren and Knight were joined on the All-SEC first team by Georgia junior Travis Leslie and Vanderbilt junior Jeffery Taylor.

Arkansas' Marshawn Powell led All-SEC second team honors and was joined by Florida's Boynton and Parsons, Alabama's JaMychal Green and Hopson.

Points were compiled on a 6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for each division. Each media member also voted for one team as an overall conference champion and a five-player All-SEC Team.

The 2010-11 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Day Thursday at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama. The 2010-11 regular season begins Nov. 12, with conference play set to begin Jan. 8. The 2011 SEC Tournament will be held March 10-13 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga.

Preseason Media Poll

(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

SEC Champion: Florida (8); Mississippi State (3); Kentucky (2); Tennessee (2); Georgia (1)

Eastern Division Points

Florida (13) 110

Kentucky (3) 95

Georgia (2) 72

Tennessee (2) 71

Vanderbilt 52

South Carolina 20

Western Division Points

Mississippi State (18) 118

Ole Miss (2) 84

Alabama 82

Arkansas 72

LSU 41

Auburn 23

FIRST TEAM ALL-SEC Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown

Brandon Knight, Kentucky G 6-3 195 Fr. Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Travis Leslie, Georgia G 6-4 205 Jr. Decatur, Ga.

Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt F 6-7 225 Jr. Norkopping, Sweden

Trey Thompkins, Georgia F 6-10 245 Jr. Lithonia, Ga.

Chris Warren, Ole Miss G 5-10 168 Sr. Orlando, Fla.

SECOND TEAM ALL-SEC Pos. Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown

Kenny Boynton, Florida G 6-2 183 So. Pompano Beach, Fla.

JaMychal Green, Alabama F 6-8 228 Jr. Montgomery, Ala.

Scotty Hopson, Tennessee G 6-7 200 Jr. Hopkinsville, Ky.

Chandler Parsons, Florida F 6-10 218 Sr. Casselberry, Fla.

Marshawn Powell, Arkansas F 6-7 220 So. Newport News, Va.

SEC Player of the Year: Trey Thompkins, Georgia

Inside Tennessee Top Stories