Slay 3rd team AP All-American

The Associated Press has named Tennessee's Ron Slay to its third team All-America squad. The AP announced its All-America teams Thursday afternoon.

Slay, a senior forward from Nashville, was named the AP's SEC Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring with 21.2 points per game and ranking third in rebounding with 7.8 rebounds per game. He is the first Vol to earn All-America honors from the Associated Press since Allan Houston was also a third team selection in 1993, when he led the SEC in scoring with 22.3 points per game.

Slay is joined on the third team by Keith Bogans (Kentucky), Brian Cook (Illinois), Reece Gaines (Louisville) and Kirk Hinrich (Kansas).

David West, who is Xavier's first All-America selection, was the leading vote-getter on the All-America teams. He is joined on the first team by Nick Collison (Kansas), T.J. Ford (Texas), Josh Howard (Wake Forest) and Dwyane Wade (Marquette). Second-team selections included Carmelo Anthony (Syracuse), Troy Bell (Boston College), Jason Gardner (Arizona), Kyle Korver (Creighton) and Hollis Price (Oklahoma).

Inside Tennessee Top Stories