Slocum wins Neyland Award

R.C. Slocum, the winningest coach in Texas A&M football history, has been named winner of the 2011 Neyland Trophy presented by the Knoxville Quarterback Club.

First awarded in 1967, the Trophy is named in honor of Hall of Fame and legendary head coach Gen. Robert R. Neyland, who led the Vols from 1926-52. The presentation will be made at The East Tennessee Chapter of the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame banquet, set for Saturday, April 16, at 10 a.m. at The Foundry in Knoxville. Slocum will also be honored on the field in pregame ceremonies before Tennessee's annual Orange and White Game.

Slocum, who recorded 123 wins as the Aggies head coach, had more than 50 Texas A&M players drafted into the NFL during his career.

Raised in Orange, Texas, Slocum attended McNeese State University in Lake Charles, La. He began his coaching career in 1968 at a Lake Charles high school. Two years later, in 1970, Slocum became a graduate assistant at Kansas State under head coach Vince Gibson. In 1971, he was named head freshman coach.

In 1972, Slocum was hired as a receivers coach under Emory Bellard at Texas A&M. He coached several position with the Aggies from 1972-80, including offensive line, defensive ends and defensive coordinator. He moved to Southern California in 1981 as defensive coordinator.

Slocum returned to A&M in 1982 and became defensive coordinator under head coach Jackie Sherrill. In 1985, Slocum was elevated to assistant head coach. Slocum substituted for Sherrill and served as acting head coach for A&M's 18–0 victory over TCU during the 1988 season.

In December 1988, Slocum was named head coach at Texas A&M. During his 14 years as head coach, Slocum led the Aggies to a record of 123–47–2. During his career, Slocum never had a losing season and won four conference championships, including the Big 12 title in 1998. Additionally, he led the Aggies to become the first school history to post three consecutive perfect conference seasons.

Slocum reached 100 wins faster than any other coach active at that time. He had the best winning percentage in SWC history, one spot ahead of the legendary coach Darrell Royal. Slocum helped make A&M's Kyle Field one of the hardest places for opponents to play, losing only 12 games there in 14 years.

Slocum was named SWC Coach of the Year three times.

He is currently a special advisor to the Texas A&M University president and works for the Texas A&M Foundation. In 2006, Slocum was inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. Presently, he also serves as President of the American Football Coaches Foundation.

Gen. Robert R. Neyland Trophy

The Trophy is awarded annually by the Knoxville Quarterback Club to an outstanding man who has contributed greatly to intercollegiate athletics. The first presentation in 1967 included the man who hired Gen. Neyland in 1926 and his first All-America lineman, who later became head coach at Yale. The permanent trophy is displayed in the Tennessee Hall of Fame Exhibit in the Neyland-Thompson Sports Center on the University of Tennessee campus.

1967 - Nathan W. Dougherty, Tennessee 1967 - Herman Hickman, Yale 1968 - Wallace Wade, Alabama 1969 - Bobby Dodd, Georgia Tech 1970 - John Barnhill, Arkansas 1971 - Jess Neely, Rice 1972 - John Vaught, Mississippi 1973 - Bud Wilkinson, Oklahoma 1974 - Fritz Crisler, Michigan 1975 - Lynn "Pappy" Waldorf, California 1976 - John McKay, Southern California 1977 - Darrell Royal, Texas 1978 - Ralph "Shug" Jordan, Auburn 1979 - Frank Broyles, Arkansas 1980 - Bob Devaney, Nebraska 1981 - Ara Parseghian, Notre Dame 1982 - Bill Murray, Duke 1983 - Paul "Bear" Bryant, Alabama 1984 - Woody Hayes, Ohio State 1985 - Duffy Daugherty, Michigan State 1986 - Bob Woodruff, Tennessee 1987 - Charles McClendon, LSU 1988 - LaVell Edwards, Brigham Young 1989 - Vince Dooley, Georgia 1990 - Bo Schembechler, Michigan 1991 - Murray Warmath, Minnesota 1992 - Bobby Bowden, Florida State 1993 - Grant Teaff, Baylor 1994 - Jerry Claiborne, Kentucky 1995 - Dan Devine, Notre Dame 1996 - Hayden Fry, Iowa 1997 - Terry Donahue, UCLA 1998 - Lou Holtz, Notre Dame 1999 - Eddie Robinson, Grambling 2000 - Tom Osborne, Nebraska 2001 - Doug Dickey, Tennessee 2002 - Gene Stallings, Alabama 2003 - Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh 2004 - John Gaglidardi, St. John's (Minn.) 2005 - Barry Switzer, Oklahoma 2006 - John Cooper, Ohio State 2007 - John Robinson, UNLV 2008 - Lloyd Carr, Michigan 2009 - Phillip Fulmer, Tennessee 2010 – Ken Sparks, Carson-Newman 2011 - -R.C. Slocum, Texas A&M

Inside Tennessee Top Stories