Only two Vols selected

Tight end Luke Stocker (Round 4) and wideout Denarius Moore (Round 5) were the only Tennessee players taken in the 2011 NFL Draft, marking the first time in 18 years the Vols had two players selected.

The 1993 draft saw defensive end Todd Kelly taken in Round 1 and defensive back Dave Thomas in Round 8.

Only once between 1993 and 2011 have the Vols produced fewer NFL draftees. That was in 2009, when defensive lineman Robert Ayers, a first-round pick, was the only UT player chosen.

Tennessee hasn't gone without a drafted player since 1963.

The selection of Stocker in Round 4 represents the first time since 2004 that no Vols were taken in the draft's first three rounds. Four UT players were chosen in '04 but the first one was safety Gibril Wilson in Round 5.

Stocker was selected by the Tampa Bay Bucs, who traded up in Round 4 to select him. Moore was taken a round later by the Oakland Raiders, who are known for their emphasis on speed and big-play potential.

The fact only two Vols were considered draft-worthy by NFL teams is no surprise. Tennessee's talent level clearly was down in 2008, 2009 and 2010. That's the primary reason the Vols went 5-7, 7-6 and 6-7 the past three seasons.

That said, here's a recap of Tennessee's contributions to the NFL Drafts of the 21st century.

2000: RB Jamal Lewis (1), DE Shaun Ellis (1), LB Raynoch Thompson (2), OT Chad Clifton (2), DB Dwayne Goodrich (2), G Cosey Coleman (2), DB Deon Grant (2), DT Darwin Walker (3), QB Tee Martin (5)

2001: RB Travis Henry (2), LB Eric Westmoreland (3), P David Leaverton (5), WR Cedrick Wilson (6), TE David Martin (6)

2002: DT John Henderson (1), WR Donte' Stallworth (1), DT Albert Haynesworth (1), G Fred Weary (3), DE Will Overstreet (3), RB Travis Stephens (4), DB Andre Lott (5), OT Reggie Coleman (6), DB Teddy Gaines (7), LB Dominique Stevenson (7)

2003: LB Eddie Moore (2), WR Kelley Washington (3), TE Jason Witten (3), DB Julian Battle (3), DT Aubrayo Franklin (5), LB Keyon Whiteside (5), DT Rashad Moore (6), DE Demetrin Veal (7)

2004: S Gibril Wilson (5), FB Troy Fleming (6), WR Mark Jones (7), C Scott Wells (7)

2005: LB Kevin Burnett (2), P Dustin Colquitt (3), RB Cedric Houston (6)

2006: DB Jason Allen (1), DE Parys Haralson (5), DT Jesse Mahelona (5), LB Omar Gaither (5)

2007: DT Justin Harrell (1), WR Robert Meachem (1), G Arron Sears, (2), DL Turk McBride (2), CB Jonathan Wade (3), LB Marvin Mitchell (7)

2008: LB Jerod Mayo (1), TE Brad Cottam (3), QB Erik Ainge (5)

2009: DE Robert Ayers (1)

2010: S Eric Berry (1), DL Dan Williams (1), RB Montario Hardesty (2), G Jacques McClendon (4), QB Jonathan Crompton (5), OL Chris Scott (5)

2011: TE Luke Stocker (4), WR Denarius Moore (5)

Inside Tennessee Top Stories