Vols load up Coaches All-SEC teams

Tennessee's preseason accolades are plentiful. More honors came in for several Volunteers on Thursday.

The Preseason Coaches All-Southeastern Conference football teams were announced Thursday.

Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players, so Tennessee landing eight Volunteers on the three teams shows there's ample respect for the Big Orange around the league.

Reggie White's face is on the side of Neyland Stadium for a reason and is known as the most prolific pass rusher in program history with a record 32 sacks. Tennessee junior defensive end Derek Barnett, who made the Coaches All-SEC first team, has the opportunity to overtake White in the books as the Nashville native already has 20 sacks.

Jalen Reeves-Maybin placed 11th on Tennessee's all-time list for the most tackles in one game by accumulating 21 stops against Oklahoma last September. The Clarksville native and former Scout four-star prospect made first team.

Cornerback Cameron Sutton broke up 16 passes in 2015, good enough for third in program history, and projects by Walter Football to be an NFL Draft second-round selection in 2017. He's on the first team.

Reigning SEC special teams player of the year Evan Berry, who made three All-American first teams last year, is on the squad as a first-team return specialist. Berry tied the great Willie Gault for a single-season record by taking three kickoffs back for touchdowns a season ago.





Quarterback Joshua Dobbs and running back Jalen Hurd represent Tennessee on the second-team.



Punter Trevor Daniel and offensive guard Jashon Robertson earned third-team honors with Sutton listed as a return specialist.



Here's a look at the complete teams:

2016 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Teams 

(* - ties)


First Team Preseason All-SEC 



TE           O.J. Howard, Alabama


OL           Cam Robinson, Alabama

                Dan Skipper, Arkansas

                Greg Pyke, Georgia

                Alex Kozan, Auburn


C             Ethan Pocic, LSU


WR         Calvin Ridley, Alabama

                Christian Kirk, Texas A&M


QB          Chad Kelly, Ole Miss


RB           Leonard Fournette, LSU

               Nick Chubb, Georgia


AP          Christian Kirk, Texas A&M     



DL           Myles Garrett, Texas A&M

                Jonathan Allen, Alabama

                Derek Barnett, Tennessee

                Carl Lawson, Auburn


LB           Reuben Foster, Alabama

                Kendell Beckwith, LSU

                Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee*

                Jarrad Davis, Florida*


DB          Eddie Jackson, Alabama

                Jalen Tabor, Florida

                Cameron Sutton, Tennessee

                Tre’Davious White, LSU



PK           Daniel Carlson, Auburn


P             JK Scott, Alabama


RS           Christian Kirk, Texas A&M*

                Evan Berry, Tennessee*


Second Team Preseason All-SEC 



TE           Evan Engram, Ole Miss  


OL           William Clapp, LSU

                Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M

                Martez Ivey, Florida

                Alphonse Taylor, Alabama*

                Braden Smith, Auburn* 


C             Brandon Kublanow, Georgia


WR         Fred Ross, Mississippi State

                Malachi Dupre, LSU


QB          Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee


RB           Jalen Hurd, Tennessee

                Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt


AP          Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia



DL           Montravius Adams, Auburn

                Charles Harris, Missouri

                Bryan Cox, Florida

                Davon Godchaux, LSU


LB           Tim Williams, Alabama

                Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt

                Brooks Ellis, Arkansas*

                Arden Key, LSU*


DB          Jamal Adams, LSU

                Dominick Sanders, Georgia

                Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama

                Tony Conner, Ole Miss



PK           Adam Griffith, Alabama*

                Elliott Fry, South Carolina*


P             Johnny Townsend, Florida


RS           Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia 


Third Team Preseason All-SEC 



TE           Jeremy Sprinkle, Arkansas


OL           David Sharpe, Florida

                Mason Zandi, South Carolina

                Jashon Robertson, Tennessee

                Frank Ragnow, Arkansas


C             Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama*

                Frank Ragnow, Arkansas*

                Jon Toth, Kentucky*


WR         Travin Dural, LSU

                Drew Morgan, Arkansas


QB          Brandon Harris, LSU


RB           Stanley “Boom” Williams, Kentucky

                Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State


AP          Derrius Guice, LSU



DL           Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss

                Lewis Neal, LSU

                Deatrich Wise, Arkansas*

                Daeshon Hall, Texas A&M*

                A.J. Jefferson, Mississippi State*


LB           Richie Brown, Mississippi State

                Oren Burks, Vanderbilt

                Lorenzo Carter, Georgia


DB          Marcus Maye, Florida

                Marlon Humphrey, Alabama

                Johnathan Ford, Auburn

                Quincy Wilson, Florida



PK           Gary Wunderlich, Ole Miss


P             Trevor Daniel, Tennessee


RS           Marcus Davis, Auburn*

                Cameron Sutton, Tennessee*

                Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State*


Inside Tennessee Top Stories