Dickey enters 'Hall' tonight

Former athletics director and coach Doug Dickey becomes the University of Tennessee's 19th representative in the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame during the 46th annual awards dinner today in New York City.

"It's a great honor to be selected to the College Football Hall of Fame," Dickey said. "I think it's one of those things everybody would like to say happened to them. I am tremendously indebted to the players, coaches and administration at the University of Tennessee and the University of Florida who were all part of the success we enjoyed."

Dickey began his ties with Tennessee as head football coach from 1964-69. His tenure included a 46-15-4 record that took the Vols to national prominence in the late 1960s. Two SEC championships (1967 and 1969) were brought to Knoxville during Dickey's term as head coach, and he was named SEC Coach of the Year in 1965 and 1967.

After a nine-year stint as football coach at Florida (1970-78), his alma mater, Dickey returned to Tennessee as athletics director in 1985. Dickey was widely recognized as one the nation's best, earning numerous awards for his work and molding of the UT Athletics Department.

Dickey joins an elite group of coaching greats from the university including Gen. Robert R. Neyland and Bowden Wyatt. Neyland was the head coach from 1925-52 and was elected into the hall of fame in 1956. Wyatt coached from 1955-62 and was elected into the hall as a player in 1972 and as a coach in 1997.

The 2003 class will be inducted during Tuesday's ceremonies at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, but officially becomes enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., early next year. Other members being inducted are the late Ricky Bell (Southern California), Murry Bowden (Dartmouth), Tom Brown (Minnesota), Jimbo Covert (Pittsburgh), Jerry LeVias (Southern Methodist), Billy Neighbors (Alabama), Ron Pritchard (Arizona State), John Rauch (Georgia), Barry Sanders (Oklahoma State), Joe Theismann (Notre Dame), Roger Wehrli (Missouri) and coach Hayden Fry (Southern Methodist, North Texas and Iowa).

Inside Tennessee Top Stories