UT trio among nominees

Three University of Tennessee greats are among more than 50 legendary names from the Orange Bowl's storied past that have been nominated for the honor of ''Orange Bowl Championship Legend.''

The Vol nominees are Peyton Manning, Jamal Lewis and Peerless Price.

Other former collegians nominated include Joe Namath and Ozzie Newsome of Alabama, Michael Irvin of Miami and William ''The Refrigerator'' Perry of Clemson.

The legends will be selected by fan balloting. To vote, go to www.orangebowl.org, and select a top 10 from the nominees. The team will consist of 13 players and two coaches, with the coaches selected by the Orange Bowl Committee.

Voting, already underway, ends Dec. 5.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories