Majors honored

ATLANTA -- The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl announced that former Tennessee head football coach Johnny Majors has been selected for induction to the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Hall of Fame.

Majors, who coached at UT from 1977-92, was named by the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Hall of Fame Selection Committee based on his teams' performances in their two Peach Bowl appearances and accomplishments over his 29-year career, including the 1976 national championship as head coach of Pittsburgh.

"Most football coaches are fortunate to be revered at one university during their career," said Leeman Bennett, chairman of the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. "It takes a special individual like Coach Majors to achieve the legendary status he has at both the University of Pittsburgh and the University of Tennessee. We are honored to induct a coach of Johnny's caliber and character to the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Hall of Fame."

Majors led the Volunteers to Atlanta's Bowl Game after the 1982 and 1987 seasons. Tennessee lost the 1982 contest to Iowa, 28-22. In his second Bowl appearance on Jan. 2, 1988, Tennessee trailed Indiana in the fourth quarter until Majors orchestrated a final scoring drive that resulted in Reggie Cobb's nine-yard touchdown run. The Volunteers won 27-22 in front of 58,737 fans, the largest Peach Bowl crowd ever at that time.

Majors coached at his alma mater 16 seasons, leading the Volunteers to a 116-62-8 record and three Southeastern Conference titles (1985, 1989, 1990).

Majors returned to Knoxville after leading Pittsburgh to a perfect 12-0 season for the 1976 national title. He also received the Football Writers of America Association National Coach of the Year honors in 1973 and 1976 during his tenure at Pittsburgh.

The Huntland, Tenn., native started his head coaching career at Iowa State from 1968-72, and he returned to Pittsburgh for his final coaching stint from 1993-96. Majors compiled a 185-137-10 career record.

An All-America tailback for UT in the 1950s, Majors was inducted to the College Football Hall of Fame as a player in 1987.

Majors and former Kentucky defensive end Art Still are the only members of the induction class of 2005. The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Hall of Fame was founded in 2002 and has 18 current members.

Majors is the second Hall of Fame inductee from Tennessee, joining his former player, defensive end Reggie White, who was inducted in 2003. Majors is the fifth head coach inducted, joining Jerry Claiborne (Maryland), Bobby Dodd (Georgia Tech), Vince Dooley (Georgia) and Hayden Fry (Iowa).

Inside Tennessee Top Stories