Parys, Jesse not picked on Day 1

Defensive linemen Parys Haralson and Jesse Mahelona were snubbed on Day 1 of the NFL Draft. As a result, defensive back Jason Allen was the only Vol taken in the first three rounds.

Rounds 4 through 7 are scheduled Sunday. Haralson and Mahelona, projected in several mock drafts as third-round picks, probably will be selected in the opening round of Day 2.

Linebackers Omar Gaither and Kevin Simon, defensive end Jason Hall, defensive tackle Tony McDaniel, tailback Gerald Riggs, receiver Chris Hannon, offensive linemen Rob Smith, Albert Toeaina and Cody Douglas also are hoping to be drafted on Sunday.

All told, 14 Southeastern Conference players were selected on Day 1.

Four SEC players were first-round picks. Vanderbilt quarterback Jay Cutler was taken No. 11 by the Denver Broncos. Allen was tabbed No. 16 by Miami, South Carolina cornerback Jonathan Joseph No. 24 by Cincinnati and LSU tailback Joseph Addai No. 30 by Indianapolis.

Six SEC players went in Round 2. Alabama linebacker DeMeco Ryans was the first selection of the round, No. 33 overall, by the Houston Texans. Florida receiver Chad Jackson went No. 36 to New England, Alabama safety Roman Harper No. 43 to New Orleans and Auburn offensive tackle Marcus McNeil No. 50 to San Diego. LSU offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth was tabbed by Cincinnati with pick No. 55 and Georgia cornerback Tim Jennings was selected by Indianapolis with pick No 62.

Four more SEC players were taken in Round 3. LSU defensive tackle Claude Wroten went to St. Louis with pick 68, Georgia tight end Leonard Pope to Arizona with pick 76, Mississippi State running back Jerious Norwood to Atlanta with pick 79 and Alabama quarterback Brodie Croyle to Kansas City with pick 85.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories