Baseball Vols honored

Three Tennessee baseball players were named to the All-SEC teams in a vote of the 12 league coaches – one each for the first team, the second team and the freshman team.

Catcher J.P. Arencibia was the first-team selection, outfielder Julio Borbon the second-teamer and shortstop Tony Delmonico the freshman pick. Arencibia earlier made the SEC Good Works team for his community service. He was a regular visitor to Knox-area hospitals and selflessly signed autographs to help raise money for hurricane victims.

Arencibia ranked fourth among SEC players in doubles (17) and 11th in batting average (.352). He slammed 11 home runs and batted in 52 runs.

Borbon ranked second in the league for batting average (.366) and hits (86), third for triples (5) and stolen bases (19).

Delmonico, son of UT coach Rod Delmonico, batted .335 with 36 RBI in his debut season.

Junior first baseman Ryan Strieby of Kentucky was selected SEC Player of the Year after leading the league in doubles (20), total bases (150), slugging percentage (.718), on-base percentage (47.4) and RBI (75).

Sophomore lefthander Nick Schmidt of Arkansas was named SEC Pitcher of the Year after finishing second in strikeouts (130), wins (9) and opponent's batting average (.199) and third in ERA (2.81).

Third basemen Pedro Alvarez of Vanderbilt was tabbed Freshman of the Year after belting 17 home runs and scoring 61 runs. Kentucky's John Cohen was a unanimous pick as SEC Coach of the Year for guiding the Wildcats to a 20-10 league record and share of the league title, a first in program history. Alabama outfielder Emeel Salem was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Here are the selections from the SEC office:


1B - Ryan Strieby, Kentucky

2B - Jeffrey Rea, Mississippi State

3B - Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt

SS - Zack Cozart, Ole Miss

SS - Thomas Berkery, Mississippi State

C - J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee

OF - *Emeel Salem, Alabama

OF - Quinn Stewart, LSU

OF - Michael Campbell, South Carolina

DH - Mike Bianucci, Auburn

P - Nick Schmidt, Arkansas

P - Wade LeBlanc, Alabama

RP - Joshua Fields, Georgia


1B - Josh Morris, Georgia

2B - John Shelby, Kentucky

3B - Chris Coghlan, Ole Miss

SS - Michael Hollander, LSU

SS - Reese Havens, South Carolina

C - Kody Valverde, Alabama

C - Sean Coughlin, Kentucky

OF - Jake Dugger, Arkansas

OF - Joey Side, Georgia

OF - Julio Borbon, Tennessee

DH - Robbie Grinestaff, South Carolina

P - David Price, Vanderbilt

P - Bryan Augenstein, Florida

RP - Wynn Pelzer, South Carolina


1B - Justin Smoak, South Carolina

2B - J.T. Wise, LSU

3B - Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt

SS - Tony Delmonico, Tennessee

OF - Luke Greinke, Auburn

OF - Jared Bogany, LSU

OF - Andrew Crisp, South Carolina

DH - Mike Bianucci, Auburn

P - Tommy Hunter, Alabama

P - Mike Cisco, South Carolina

RP - Cody Satterwhite, Ole Miss

Inside Tennessee Top Stories