Gus, Haywood inducted

The Tennessee Sports Writers Association inducted 16 charter members to the Tennessee Sports Writers Hall of Fame Thursday night during the organization's annual college awards banquet at Cumberland College in Lebanon, Tenn. Among those honored were longtime employees of the University of Tennessee Athletics Department Gus Manning and Haywood Harris.

First hired by Gen. Robert Neyland as publicity director, Manning worked for UT for 50 years before retiring in 1999. He recently teamed with Harris to write "Six Seasons Remembered: The National Championship Years of Tennessee Football." Manning remarkably has attended all but one Tennessee football game -- home and away -- since the 1951 season-opener.

Harris was appointed by Neyland as UT sports information director in January 1961 and retired in 2000. He served UT as sports information director, assistant athletics director and associate athletics director of media relations. In 1982, Inside Sports magazine listed him as one of the top-five publicists in the nation. He was named to the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Hall of Fame in 1984 and received the organization's top honor, the Arch Ward Award, in 1991.

Manning and Harris have both been inducted to the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame. They now serve as UTAD historians and consultants to Tennessee Athletics Director Mike Hamilton. The pair is nearing completion on its second book, "Once a Vol, Always a Vol."

All of the 2006 Hall of Fame inductees come from either the newspaper or sports information field, which comprises the TSWA membership. The organization voted at its 2005 convention to elect its charter class.

"With the incredible tradition of sports writers and sports information people in the state of Tennessee, it's only fitting that the Tennessee Sports Writers Association finally is able to commemorate and acknowledge that tradition and the high standards that have been set," TSWA president Teresa Walker said.

"The people included in this inaugural Hall of Fame class embody the best the state of Tennessee has brought to sports over the decades," Walker said, "And I believe the members of the Tennessee Sports Writers Association share in the great pride that we are able to honor them in this way."

The TSWA plans to commemorate its Hall of Fame on plaques to be installed in press boxes around the state.

The 2006 TSWA Hall of Fame inductees are: Edgar Allen, The Nashville Banner and TSSAA; Russ Bebb, The Knoxville Journal; John Bibb, The Tennessean; Ben Byrd, The Knoxville Journal; Al Dunning, The Commercial Appeal; Will Grimsley, Associated Press, The Evening Tennessean; Haywood Harris, University of Tennessee; Elmore (Scoop) Hudgens, Vanderbilt University, Southeastern Conference; Buck Johnson, The Chattanooga Times; Gary Lundy, The Knoxville Journal, The Knoxville News-Sentinel; Gus Manning, University of Tennessee; Grantland Rice, The Tennessean, Murfreesboro native; Fred Russell, The Nashville Banner; Tom Siler, The Knoxville News-Sentinel; Gene (Pappy) Thompson, Bristol Herald Courier; Marvin West, The Knoxville News-Sentinel.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories