Meachem's in All-Star Challenge

Miami, Fla. - Twelve future NFL players who represent the best in college football are showcasing their skills in the ninth annual State Farm College Football All-Star Challenge, taped at Orange Bowl Stadium on Tuesday and airing on ESPN Super Bowl weekend, Feb. 3 from 4-6 p.m. Eastern time.

Kirk Herbstreit leads the ESPN broadcast team for the ninth annual State Farm College Football All-Star Challenge. This year's talented field includes Tennessee wide receiver Robert Meachem along with quarterbacks Chris Leak of Florida, Troy Smith of Ohio State, Drew Stanton of Michigan State and Jared Zabransky of undefeated Boise State. Rounding out the competition are Auburn running back Kenny Irons, Miami tight end Greg Olsen, Notre Dame running back Darius Walker and kickers Mason Crosby of Colorado, Justin Medlock of UCLA, John Vaughn of Auburn and Andrew Wellock of Eastern Michigan.

Free and open to the public, the State Farm College Football All-Star Challenge provides all spectators the unique opportunity to be on the field at Orange Bowl Stadium and see college football's elite compete prior to the NFL Draft. Fans also can take part in a post-event autograph session.

Produced by Chicago-based Intersport, the State Farm College Football All-Star Challenge is one of the most highly-anticipated college football events of the year. Last year's competition featured four first-round NFL Draft picks Vince Young, DeAngelo Williams, Vernon Davis and Sinorice Moss and scored the highest cable rating of the day.

Nine of the 12 confirmed players are ranked in the top five at their position according to ESPN draft analyst Mel Kiper's latest report: Meachem (4th WR), Stanton (3rd QB), Smith (5th QB), Olsen (1st TE), Irons and Walker (tie, 5th RB), Crosby (1st K), Medlock (2nd K) and Wellock (4th K).

Kiper places Meachem 15th on his current list of top 25 prospects.

The State Farm College Football All-Star Challenge is a unique skills-and-drills competition that tests the finest college football stars in the country prior to their entry into the NFL. Players participate in a variety of competitions showcasing their speed, agility, strength and stamina. In the eight-year history of the event, 29 competitors have gone on to become first round selections in the NFL Draft. Former players include Drew Brees, Daunte Culpepper, Ken Dorsey, Ron Dayne, Rex Grossman, Edgerrin James, Deuce McAllister, Donovan McNabb, Santana Moss, Charles Rogers, Javon Walker, Cadillac Williams, Vince Young and many more.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories