Spurrier to win SEC East

After two years spent mostly taking his lumps, South Carolina head man Steve Spurrier is ready to begin administering some lumps during the upcoming 2007 Southeastern Conference football season.

In fact, Spurrier's Gamecocks are poised to supplant the defending national champ Florida Gators as champions of the SEC Eastern Division this fall. At least, that's the projection of Larry Phipps, publisher of the Phipps' SEC Football Guide.

Phipps, based in Cola, S.C., tabs Tennessee second in the East race, with Georgia third and the graduation-depleted Gators slipping to fourth. Kentucky and Vanderbilt are pegged fifth and sixth, respectively.

Phipps projects LSU to win the West, then beat South Carolina in the SEC Championship Game. Following the Tigers in the West race are Auburn, Arkansas, Alabama, Ole Miss and Mississippi State.

Phipps sees no Tennessee players worthy of first-team recognition on his preseason All-SEC offensive squad but rates quarterback Erik Ainge a second-team choice.

Phipps lists three Vols on his first-team preseason All-SEC defensive squad – linebacker Jerod Mayo, safety Jonathan Hefney and punter Britton Colquitt.

Here are Phipps' complete All-SEC teams:



QB- Andre' Woodson (KY)

RB- Felix Jones (AR)

RB- Darren McFadden (AR)

WR- Keenan Burton (KY)

WR- D. J. Hall (AL)

WR- Earl Bennett (VU)

OL- Jonathan Luigs (AR)

OL- Michael Oher (UM)

OL- Drew Miller (FL)

OL- Brian Stamper (VU)

OL- Antoine Caldwell (AL)

TE- Jacob Tamme (KY)

PK- Ryan Succop (SC)


QB Erik Ainge (TN)

RB Cory Boyd (SC)

RB Rafael Little (KY)

WR Early Doucet (LSU)

WR Kenny McKinley (SC)

WR Marcus Monk (AR)

OL Ciron Black (LSU)

OL Andre Smith (AL)

OL Brett Helms (LSU)

OL Jamon Meredith (SC)

OL Phil Trautwein (FL)

TE Andy Boyd (SC)

PK Joshua Shene (UM)



DL Glenn Dorsey (LSU)

DL Antwain Robinson (AR)

DL Derrick Harvey (FL)

DL Tyson Jackson (LSU)

LB Jasper Brinkley (SC)

LB Wesley Woodyard (KY)

LB Jerod Mayo (TN)

DB Simeon Castille (AL)

DB Matterral Richardson (AR)

DB Paul Oliver (GA)

DB Jonathan Hefney (TN)

P Britton Colquitt (TN)


DL Casper Brinkley (SC)

DL Quentin Groves (AU)

DL Titus Brown (MSU)

DL Wallace Gilberry (AL)

LB Jonathan Goff (VU)

LB Prince Hall (AL)

LB Weston Dacus (AR)

DB Emanuel Cook (SC)

DB Kelin Johnson (GA)

DB Trevard Lindley (KY)

DB Chevis Jackson (LSU)

P Ryan Succop (SC)

To order Phipps' SEC Football Guide, go to either of these websites:



Inside Tennessee Top Stories