Colquitt on Ray Guy watch list

AUGUSTA, Ga. - The Greater Augusta Sports Council announced Tuesday the watch list for the 2007 Ray Guy Award, and Tennessee junior Britton Colquitt is among the early selectees.

The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation's top collegiate punter and is determined by a national selection committee made up of sports writers, college football coaches, sports information directors, past Ray Guy Award winners, and members designated by the Greater Augusta Sports Council. Among the statistics used to identify the Ray Guy Award winner are total yardage punted, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, net average, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned.

Colquitt is averaging 43.3 yards per punt in the early going of 2007 despite having battled a quadriceps injury suffered late in the preseason. The Knoxville native earned consensus All-SEC honors last season after a 44.9-yard average that was the fourth-best in school history. His 42.9-yard career average also ranks second in the UT records book behind his cousin, Jimmy (43.9), and just ahead of his brother, Dustin (42.6), and his father, Craig (42.5).

The Ray Guy Award watch list narrows to 10 semifinalists in early November. The national voting body then votes for the top three finalists, who will be announced at the end of November. The award will be presented live Dec. 6 on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

2007 Ray Guy Award Watch List: Jared Armstrong, Purdue, Sr.; Johnny Ayers, Boston College, Sr.; Britt Barefoot, Southern Miss, Jr.; Justin Brantly, Texas A&M, Jr.; Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech, Sr.; Dave Brytus, Pittsburgh, Jr.; BRITTON COLQUITT, TENNESSEE, JR.; Jeremy Davis, Arkansas, Jr.; Ken Debauche, Wisconsin, Sr.; Matt DiLallo, Colorado, Soph.; Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State, Jr.; Michael Hughes, San Siego State, Sr.; Leon Jackson III, Utah State, Sr.; Jonathan Johnson, Arizona State, Sr.; Zach Johnson, Eastern Michigan, Soph.; Jared Kaufman, New Mexico State, Sr.; Jimmie Kaylor, Colorado State, Sr.; Chris Keagle, Louisiana Tech, Jr.; Brett Kern, Toledo, Sr.; Jim Laney, Western Michigan, Sr.; Andrew Larson, California, Sr.; Zoltan Mesko, Michigan, Soph.; Chris Miller, Ball State, Jr.; Thomas Morstead, Southern Methodist, Jr.; Brian Pacheco, UNLV, Sr.; Aaron Perez, UCLA, Jr.; Keegan Peterson, Florida Atlantic, Soph.; Kyle Petersen, UTEP, Fr.; Waylon Prather, San Jose State, Sr.; Geoff Price, Notre Dame, Sr.; Tim Reyer, Kansas State, Sr.; Louie Sakoda, Utah, Jr.; Truman Spencer, North Texas, Jr.; Ryan Succop, South Carolina, Jr.; Brent Sutherland, Memphis, Jr.; Sam Swank, Wake Forest, Jr.; Dan Titchener, Nebraska, Jr.; Owen Tolson, Army, Sr.; A.J. Trapasso, Ohio State, Jr.; Greg Woidneck, Southern California, Jr.; Ben Woods, Buffalo, Sr.


Tennessee and Washington are the only BCS-conference members in their first three games to have played two teams ranked in the USA Today coaches' poll...Washington split home dates against No. 22 Boise State (win) and No. 10 Ohio State (loss), while the Vols dropped both ends of road trips to No. 12 California and No. 5 Florida...Other teams that have played two ranked teams in the early going are Buffalo, Fresno State, Louisiana-Monroe, Louisiana Tech, Middle Tennessee, UNLV and Troy...Another 43 bowl championship subdivision teams have played at least one ranked opponent, while 68 have yet to meet their first ranked opposition...Jeff Sagarin's college football ratings place the Vols schedule the toughest in the country to date among major college teams.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories