Reggie White among candidates

ATLANTA -­ The Southeastern Conference has produced some of the stingiest defensive lineman in the history of college football, and now fans can voice their opinions on the best of all time.

It's all a part of AT&T Inc.'s "Best of 75 Years of SEC Football," an 11-week program that allows fans to vote for their favorite players, coaches and traditions from the past 75 years.

Fans can enter to vote on the "Best of 75 Years of SEC Football" after accessing SEC Mobile on their AT&T handsets by texting SEC to 234567. They will then receive a menu of options to choose from, which includes alerts, trivia, SEC video, news, downloads and sweepstakes. Voting began Sept. 4 and runs through Nov. 16 with results announced weekly.

Choosing the best of all time will be no easy task – just check out the list of nominees below: Eric Curry, Alabama; Dan Hampton, Arkansas; Tracy Rocker, Auburn; Jack Youngblood, Florida; Bill Stanfill, Georgia; Bob Gain, Kentucky; Chad Lavalais, LSU; Freddie Joe Nunn, Mississippi; Jimmy Webb, Mississippi State; Andrew Provence, South Carolina; Reggie White, Tennessee; Pat Toomay, Vanderbilt.

Last week's voting decided the finalists for the best SEC offensive lineman of all time, and the top three vote-getters were John Hannah from Alabama, Shawn Andrews Arkansas and Edgar Chandler from Georgia. The three finalists beat out nominees from the other nine SEC schools to move into the finals, which will be voted on during the last two weeks of the program in November. Every text message vote cast is an entry into a sweepstakes to win a trip to Atlanta for the SEC Championship game.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories