Nicky Anosike makes CLASS award list

Kansas City – The nation's top 30 senior male and female college basketball players who exemplify a total student-athlete were announced as the official candidates for the 2007-08 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, and Lady Vol Nicky Anosike and Vol Chris Lofton were among them.

The award – presented annually to the NCAA?? Division I Student-Athlete of the Year in eight sports – focuses on the "Four C's" of classroom, character, community and competition. Lowe's, an official corporate partner of the NCAA will award the winners with trophies during the respective men's and women's NCAA Final Four weekends.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who remain committed to their university and pursue the many rewards that a senior season and complete college education brings.Now in its seventh year for basketball, the award has developed into the nation's premier tribute for college seniors.

Since originating with basketball, Lowe's has expanded the award to include a total of eight NCAA sports. The list of basketball candidates includes a broad spectrum of universities and conferences across the country.

On the men's side, 29 different schools are represented with Georgetown being the only team with two candidates. Players from 17 different conferences are among the male nominees. The Big East Conference leads the way with five candidates.

On the women's side, 29 schools are represented with Kentucky boasting the only tandem set of candidates. While 16 conferences are included among the list of nominees, the Southeastern Conference landed five female candidates followed closely by the Missouri Valley Conference with four.

Schools that placed both a male and female student-athlete on the roster of candidates include Tennessee, Texas A&M, the United States Military Academy and Ball State.

"At Lowe's, we take pride in acknowledging hard work and outstanding accomplishments both on and off the court," said Bob Gfeller, Lowe's senior vice president of marketing and advertising. "That commitment extends beyond our employees and customers and into the communities we serve where these student-athletes become real-life mentors. We're thrilled to honor each candidate's contributions and look forward to recognizing the award recipients at the men's and women's Final Four."

From the list of 30 nominees for each gender, a national media committee will select 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award in January 2008. Those ten names will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote during the NCAA Tournament in March.

Fan balloting will be coupled with votes from coaches and media to determine the male and female recipients. The award was conceived by sportscaster Dick Enberg, who continues to serve as Honorary Chairman.

2007-08 Women's Candidates

Nicky Anosike, Tennessee; Tahnee Balerio, Missouri State; Essence Carson, Rutgers; Meagan Cowher, Princeton; Julie DeMuth, Ball State; Sarah Elliot, Kentucky; Cara Enright, United States Military Academy; Allyson Fashacht, Liberty; Emily Florence, Washington; Hope Foster, Bucknell; Sylvia Fowles, LSU; A'Quonesia Franklin, Texas A&M; Carlene Hightower, La Salle; Tasha Humphrey, Georgia; Tyeisha Jackson, Houston; Kyra Kaylor, William & Mary; Crystal Langhorne, Maryland; Sarah Jo Lawrence, George Washington; Karlyle Lim, Pittsburgh; Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky; Jackie McFarland, Colorado; Rebekah Parker, Evansville; Lindsey Pluimer, UCLA; Laura Rodophi, Indiana State; Sydney Scott, Dartmouth; Andrea Sitton, Nevada; Sara Stutz, Northwestern; Kristi Veltkamp, Maryland Eastern Shore; Lindsey Whorton, Drake; and Candace Wiggins, Stanford.

2007-08 Men's Candidates

Keiron Achara, Duquesne; Jarell Brown, United States Military Academy; Brian Butch, Wisconsin; Jaycee Carroll, Utah State; Will Daniels, Rhode Island; Randal Falker, Southern Illinois; Shan Foster, Vanderbilt; Kentrell Gransberry, Florida; A.J. Graves, Butler; Cliff Hammonds, Clemson; Justin Hare, Belmont; Mitch Henke, Santa Clara; Roy Hibbert, Georgetown; Joseph Jones, Texas A&M; Sasha Kaun, Kansas; Eugene Lawrence, St. John's; Jack Leasure, Coastal Carolina; Chris Lofton, Tennessee; Drew Neitzel, Michigan State; Matt  Nelson, Boise State; DeMarcus Nelson, Duke; David Padgett, Louisville; Brian Roberts, Dayton; Ty Rogers, Western Kentucky; Drew Shubik, Sacred Heart; Sean Singletary, Virginia; Peyton Stovall, Ball State Jonathan Wallace, Georgetown; Dane Watts, Creighton; and Kyle Weaver, Washington State.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories