UT 'Fans Day' set for 11:45-1

Tennessee's annual Fans Day autograph and photo session begins Saturday morning at 11:45 and continues until 1 o'clock.

Because of construction at Neyland Stadium, this year's Fans Day has been moved to the Haslam Field practice grounds located between the Neyland-Thompson Sports Center and Lindsey Nelson Stadium baseball field. Fans should enter Haslam Field from Pat Head Summitt Drive and receive their 2008 Fan Pac of Vols football information.

Tennessee players and staff will be dispersed at various locations on the two practice field areas. The offensive and defensive players will be grouped by position and Head Coach Phillip Fulmer will be in an autograph line in order to facilitate as many autographs as possible in the time provided.

Fans Day kicks off the festivities in advance of the Dish Network Orange and White Game, slated for a 2:30 p.m. time kickoff at Neyland Stadium. Admission is free to the public.

Note that Fans Day is weather permitting; in the event of inclement weather, Fans Day will not be held.

The Vol Walk begins at 1 p.m., finishing down Peyton Manning Pass with the team entering Neyland Stadium through the south tunnel because of construction in the Gate 21 area.

Fans entering the stadium should do so through Gates 1-10.

All university event parking lots are available, with the exception of Lot 9 or the G10 garage, which are reserved parking.


Tennessee's annual spring football finale, the Dish Network Orange and White Game, is being telecast this year by SportSouth. Coverage is set for Sunday at 7 p.m. Eastern time.


Saturday's 2008 Awards Brunch for the East Tennessee Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame begins at 9:45 a.m. at the Foundry, with the program following at 10 o'clock. Note that start time previously was listed as 10:30.

Primary awards to be presented are the Gen. Robert R. Neyland Trophy to Lloyd Carr and the Distinguished American Award to Roy Kramer. In addition, amateur football awards are being presented to LaTain McGhee, Oakie Pickard, George Quarles, Gary Rankin and Bill Wilson.

Those interested in attending the brunch should contact Tyler Johnson in the UT Athletics Department at 974-1219.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories