Two Vols on Outland watch list

DALLAS – The Football Writers Association of America has released its 2008 Outland Trophy Watch List, which includes two offensive linemen from the Tennessee Vols.

Senior guard Anthony Parker and junior center Josh McNeil are among 70 standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. With input from the entire FWAA membership, the winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and the winner.

The 2008 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 11 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPNU Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Three finalists will appear on the show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be Jan. 15, 2008, in Omaha, Neb.

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.


Geno Atkins, Georgia, DT; Ted Bentler, Army, DT; Ciron Black, LSU, OT; Alex Boone, Ohio State, OT; Ron Brace, Boston College, DT; Robert Brewster, Ball State, OT; Eben Britton, Arizona, OT; George Bussey, Louisville, OT; Jeff Byers, USC, G; Terrill Byrd, Cincinnati, DT; Gerald Cadogan, Penn State, OT; Antoine Caldwell, Alabama, C; Anthony Davis, Rutgers, OT; Cedric Dockery, Texas, G; John Estes, Hawaii, C; Ray Feinga, BYU, G; Alex Fletcher, Stanford, C; John Fletcher, Wyoming, DT; Xavier Fulton, Illinois, OT; Andrew Gardner, Georgia Tech, OT; John Gill, Northwestern, DT; DeMarcus Granger, Oklahoma, DT; Brigham Harwell, UCLA, DT; Brett Helms, LSU, C; Ziggy Hood, Missouri, DT; George Hypolite, Colorado, DT; Greg Isdaner, West Virginia, G; Ricky Jean-Francois, LSU, DT; John Jerry, Mississippi, OT; Peria Jerry, Mississippi, DT; Herman Johnson, LSU, G; Arthur Jones, Syracuse, DT; Mitch King, Iowa, DT; Matt Kroul, Iowa, DT; Andy Levitre, Oregon State, OT; Phil Loadholt, Oklahoma, OT; Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas, C; Alex Mack, California, C; Matt Mandich, Arkansas State, OT; Sen'Derrick Marks, Auburn, DT; Ryan McDonald, Illinois, C; JOSH McNEIL, TENNESSEE, C; Fili Moala, USC, DT; Eugene Monroe, Virginia, OT; Gus Mustakas, Pittsburgh, DT; Vince Oghobaase, Duke, DT; Michael Oher, Mississippi, OT; Jeff Owens, Georgia, DT; ANTHONY PARKER, TENNESSEE, G; Jeremy Perry, Oregon State, G; Steve Rehring, Ohio State, G; Sergio Render, Virginia Tech, G; Dallas Reynolds, BYU, OT; Duke Robinson, Oklahoma, G; Ryan Schmidt, South Florida, G; Dorell Scott, Clemson, DT; Sean Sester, Purdue, OT; A.Q. Shipley, Penn State, C; Andre Smith, Alabama, OT; Ryan Stanchek, West Virginia, OT; Jim Tartt, Florida, G; Terrance Taylor, Michigan, DT; Fenuki Tupou, Oregon, OT; Max Unger, Oregon, C; Kraig Urbik, Wisconsin, G; Louis Vasquez, Texas Tech, G; Vance Walker, Georgia Tech, DT; Garry Williams, Kentucky, OT; Eric Wood, Louisville, C; Sam Young, Notre Dame, OT.

Inside Tennessee Top Stories