Sitting Ducks

Oregon's football program couldn't duck Tennessee forever.

The Ducks have agreed to visit Neyland Stadium in 2010 in exchange for a return visit from the Vols in 2013, according to a release provided by the UT sports information department.

The two schools have never met on the gridiron but Oregon and Tennessee have been involved in two previous athletic collaborations:

- When Kevin O'Neill resigned as Tennessee's head basketball coach following the 1997 season, the Vols eventually hired Jerry Green away from Oregon. Green posted four 20-win seasons in Knoxville but was run out of town because his eccentric personality alienated many Big Orange fans.

- When Vol football coach Phillip Fulmer dismissed running back Onterrio Smith following a promising but undisciplined freshman season in 1999, Smith promptly moved to Eugene, where he enjoyed a terrific career with the Ducks.

Considering how much more Smith contributed to Oregon's football program than Green did to UT's basketball program, maybe the Ducks should agree to a 2-for-1 ... playing two games in Knoxville in exchange for one in Eugene.

Oregon has not won the Pac-10 title since 2001 but it posted a 9-4 record in 2007, including a 24-17 upset of Southern Cal. The Ducks are a preseason top-25 pick for 2008. Head coach Mike Bellotti is 106-52 in 13 years at Eugene and 127-77-2 overall.

The Vols will open the 2010 season with four straight home games, although a Game 1 foe for Sept. 4 is still being negotiated. The Big Orange hosts Oregon Sept. 11, Florida Sept. 18 and UAB Sept. 25.

October of 2010 promises to be an imposing month for Tennessee. The Vols play SEC road games at LSU (Oct. 2), at Georgia (Oct. 9) and at South Carolina (Oct. 30), plus a home game against Alabama (Oct. 23).

The 2010 Vols have a chance to finish strongly, since the regular season ends with games at Memphis (Nov. 6), vs. Ole Miss (Nov. 13), at Vanderbilt (Nov. 20) and vs. Kentucky (Nov. 27).

Here's a look at Tennessee's upcoming schedules:


Sept. 1 at UCLA (5 p.m. PT)     

Sept. 13 UAB (12:30 p.m. ET)    

Sept. 20 Florida        

Sept. 27 at Auburn      

Oct. 4 Northern Illinois        

Oct. 11 at Georgia      

Oct. 18 Mississippi State       

Oct. 25 Alabama 

Nov. 1 at South Carolina        

Nov. 8 Wyoming (HC)     

Nov. 22 at Vanderbilt   

Nov. 29 Kentucky        

Dec. 6 SEC Champ. (Atl., 4 p.m. ET)     


Sept. 5 Western Kentucky

Sept. 12 UCLA

Sept. 19 at Florida

Sept. 26 Ohio

Oct. 3 Auburn

Oct. 10 Georgia

Oct. 24 at Alabama

Oct. 31 South Carolina

Nov. 7 Memphis

Nov. 14 at Mississippi

Nov. 21 Vanderbilt

Nov. 28 at Kentucky

Dec. 5 SEC Championship (Atl.)


Sept. 4 To be determined

Sept. 11 Oregon

Sept. 18 Florida

Sept. 25 UAB

Oct. 2 at LSU

Oct. 9 at Georgia

Oct. 23 Alabama

Oct. 30 at South Carolina

Nov. 6 at Memphis

Nov. 13 Mississippi

Nov. 20 at Vanderbilt

Nov. 27 Kentucky

Dec. 4 SEC Championship (Atl.)

Inside Tennessee Top Stories