Vol 'runt' is All-SEC

Almost everywhere he goes he's the biggest guy in the room. Still, he's the runt of the litter in terms of the SEC's elite offensive linemen.

The football player in question is Tennessee's Anthony Parker. The 6-3, 305-pound senior guard from Jonesboro, Ga., was among seven unanimous selections to the Coaches' preseason All-SEC team, announced earlier today in Birmingham. Incredibly, he's the smallest member of the first-team all-league offensive line.

The other O-line selections are LSU's Herman Johnson (6-7, 351), Alabama's Andre Smith (6-5, 340), Ole Miss' Michael Oher (6-5, 318) and Arkansas's Jonathan Luigs (6-4, 314). Like Parker, Smith, Oher and Luigs were unanimous selections. Also named on 11 ballots – coaches could not vote for their own players – were Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno, Ole Miss defensive end Greg Hardy and Florida linebacker Brandon Spikes.

Oddly enough, both of the Ole Miss first-teamers hail from Tennessee. Oher is from Memphis, Hardy from Millington.

Parker was a second-team Associated Press All-American as a junior last fall after starting all 14 games at left guard. He started 12 games at right guard as a sophomore in 2006 and started a game at center as a freshman in 2005.

Other Vols named to the Coaches' preseason all-conference team were running back Arian Foster, linebacker Rico McCoy and defensive back Eric Berry. Offensive lineman Ramon Foster was a second-team selection, while center Josh McNeil and receiver Lucas Taylor were third-teamers.

Berry was one of only three sophomores to make the All-SEC first team. The others were Georgia's Moreno and Auburn punter Ryan Shoemaker.

Like Tennessee, Florida placed four players on the No. 1 unit. The Gator selections were quarterback Tim Tebow, wideout Percy Harvin, tight end Cornelius Ingram, plus the afore-mentioned Spikes at linebacker.

LSU had three honorees – Johnson at offensive line, Tyson Jackson at defensive line and Darry Beckwith at linebacker.


TE           Cornelius Ingram  Florida

OL           *Andre Smith Alabama

OL           *Michael Oher Ole Miss

OL           *Anthony Parker Tennessee

OL           Herman Johnson  LSU

C            *Jonathan Luigs Arkansas

WR          Percy Harvin  Florida

WR          Kenny McKinley South Carolina

QB          Tim Tebow Florida

RB           *Knowshon Moreno Georgia

RB           Arian Foster Tennessee


DL           *Greg Hardy Ole Miss

DL           Sen'Derrick Marks  Auburn

DL           Tyson Jackson  LSU

LB           *Brandon Spikes Florida

LB           Rico McCoy Tennessee

LB           Darry Beckwith  LSU

LB           Dannell Ellerbe  Georgia

DB          Eric Berry   Tennessee

DB          Derek Pegues    Mississippi State

DB          Rashad Johnson   Alabama

DB          Captain Munnerlyn  South Carolina

DB          D.J. Moore   Vanderbilt

* unanimous selection

Inside Tennessee Top Stories