By the numbers

E.J. Abrams-Ward may not be the next Kelley Washington but he'll be wearing Washington's old number (15) for the Tennessee Vols this season.

Abrams-Ward is a 6-5, 210-pound freshman from Thomasville, N.C., who plays wide receiver, the same position Washington played.

Defensive back Prentiss Waggner will wear No. 23, the same number worn by former Vol Dwayne Goodrich, an All-SEC cornerback.

Tailback Tauren Poole will wear No. 28, the number worn by the legendary Gene McEver, an All-America tailback.

Linebacker Herman Lathers will wear No. 34, the number previously worn by former Vol tailback Travis Stephens, who holds UT's single-season rushing record.

Junior college linebacker Gerald Williams will wear No. 57, the same number worn by Hall of Fame linebacker Steve Kiner, All-America linebacker Jamie Rotella and All-SEC defensive end Ron McCartney.

Offensive lineman Carson Anderson will wear No. 60, the number previously donned by All-America tackle Bill Pearman.

Offensive lineman Dallas Thomas will wear No. 71, the same number once worn by All-America defensive lineman Darris McCord.

Offensive lineman Preston Bailey will wear No. 73, a number worn previously by two All-SEC offensive linemen – Lee North and Will Ofenheusle.

Wide receiver Rod Wilks will wear No. 83, a number previously associated with All-SEC tight end Mark Adams.

Defensive end Willie Bohannon will wear No. 86, a number worn by such distinguished UT alumni as All-SEC fullback Andy Kozar, All-America end Buddy Cruze and All-SEC cornerback Terry McDaniel.

Tight end Aaron Douglas will wear No. 89, a number previously belonging to glue-fingered wide receiver Larry Seivers.

Defensive end Steven Fowlkes will wear No. 93, the same number worn by superstar defensive ends Chris Mims and Shaun Ellis.

The only Vol newcomers with non-famous numbers are junior college defensive back Stephaun Raines (29), along with freshmen fullbacks Ben Bartholomew (39) and Austin Johnson (40).

Inside Tennessee Top Stories